Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Bill Kidd, Glasgow Anniesland, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 08 March 2021
  • Motion reference: S5M-24325

That the Parliament recognises International Women’s Day 2021, which is marked on 8 March; encourages the continued affirmation of womanhood and girlhood in Scotland, the intrinsic value of women, and the significant contributions made to Scottish society and culture from women and girls; recognises the significant impact women working in health and care have had in helping Scotland move through and out of the COVID-19 pandemic; notes that, although much progress has been made in progressing women’s rights in Scotland, more still has to be done; understands the responsibilities of the Scottish Government to ensure that survivors of violence have access to justice, in line with the UN Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women; understands that, internationally, one in three women experience physical or sexual violence and, in Scotland, one in 10 women are victims of rape; highlights that, during the COVID-19 pandemic, there have been increasing reports of domestic abuse, with more women seeking refuge and support from domestic abuse during this time; considers that these abuses of human rights underline the importance of continued safe spaces for women escaping assault and for Scotland's participation in international efforts to this end, such as the UN initiative to create safe cities and safe public spaces for women; recognises the importance of initiatives such as Equally Safe, and highlights what it sees as the need for an evaluation of new approaches to protect women as they are working from home and have less opportunities to seek help and support from domestic violence during the pandemic.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Bob Doris, Annabelle Ewing, Neil Findlay, John Finnie, Kenneth Gibson, Richard Lyle, Angus MacDonald, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Joan McAlpine, Stuart McMillan, Alex Neil, Gil Paterson, Elaine Smith, Stewart Stevenson, David Torrance, Sandra White