Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

75th Anniversary of the Atomic Bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki

  • Submitted by: Bill Kidd, Glasgow Anniesland, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 06 August 2020
  • Motion reference: S5M-22373

That the Parliament recognises the 75th anniversary of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, which took place on 6 and 9 August  1945 respectively; understands that by the end of that year the bombings killed 140,000 people in Hiroshima and 74,000 in Nagasaki, including many who died from radiation poisoning in the weeks and months after the explosions; commends the survivors, who are known  as "Hibakusha", for their courageous sharing of personal testimonies from these horrific events, which show the human realities and impact of the only war-time nuclear bombings to ever take place; notes that the uranium bomb detonated over Hiroshima had an explosive yield equal to 15,000 tonnes of TNT and that the plutonium bomb over Nagasaki saw ground temperatures reach 4,000C and radioactive rain pour down; commends the work of Hibakusha in raising awareness of the realities of nuclear weapons; appreciates the survivors who have visited the Parliament as a part of this effort, including Yamada Reiko, Yamada Midori and Setsuko Thurlow, who have all dedicated their lives to pursuing peace for future generations, and notes the calls of nuclear disarmament campaigners to people across Scotland to participate in virtual events taking place throughout this week and to learn about the realities of indiscriminate weapons through initiatives such as Hibakusha Stories.

Supported by: Claudia Beamish, Bob Doris, Neil Findlay, John Finnie, Kenneth Gibson, Christine Grahame, Richard Lyle, Fulton MacGregor, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Mark McDonald, Stuart McMillan, Gil Paterson, Shona Robison, Alex Rowley, Mark Ruskell, Maureen Watt, Sandra White, Andy Wightman