Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S5M-21739.1

72nd Anniversary of the Nakba - Amendment

Submitted by: Richard Lyle, Uddingston and Bellshill, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Submitting member has a registered interest.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Jackson Carlaw, Adam Tomkins

As an amendment to motion S5M-21739 in the name of Sandra White (72nd Anniversary of the Nakba), insert at end "; further considers that constituents in Uddingston and Bellshill also recollect the words of Mahmoud Abbas, President of the Palestine Authority, in the article, What We Have Learned and What We Should Do, published in Falastin el Thawra, the official journal of the PLO, of Beirut, in March 1976, that 'The Arab armies entered Palestine to protect the Palestinians from what they called Zionist tyranny but, instead, abandoned Palestinians forced them to emigrate and leave their homeland imposed upon them a political and ideological blockade and threw them into prisons similar to the ghettos in which Jews used to live in Eastern Europe. The Arab States succeeded in scattering the Palestinian people and in destroying their unity. They did not recognise them as a unified people until the States of the world did so, and this is regrettable'; understands that 20% of Israel’s citizens are Arabs who chose not to flee in 1948, and who enjoy their democratic rights in Israel and contribute meaningfully to Israel society at all levels, including membership of the Knesset, with several Arabs serving as high ranking members of the Israel police and army, and believes that the tragedy of the Naqba can only be finally resolved by peaceful means and discussions between the parties involved."

Related motion

Motion ref. S5M-21739

72nd Anniversary of the Nakba

Submitted by: Sandra White, Glasgow Kelvin, Scottish National Party, Date lodged: Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Supported by: Claire Baker, Claudia Beamish, Sarah Boyack, Willie Coffey, James Dornan, John Finnie, Iain Gray, Ross Greer, Patrick Harvie, Alison Johnstone, Fulton MacGregor, Mark McDonald, Stuart McMillan, Pauline McNeill, Alex Rowley, Anas Sarwar, Elaine Smith, David Torrance, Andy Wightman
Current status: Taken in the chamber on Monday, January 1, 0001