Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S5M-00926

One in Five Campaign

Submitted by: Jeremy Balfour, Lothian, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
Date lodged: Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Supported by: Jackie Baillie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Peter Chapman, Ruth Davidson, Ash Denham, James Dornan, Neil Findlay, John Finnie, Murdo Fraser, Maurice Golden, Iain Gray, Jamie Greene, Ross Greer, Alison Harris, Clare Haughey, Liam Kerr, John Lamont, Richard Leonard, Richard Lyle, Fulton MacGregor, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, John Mason, Ivan McKee, Stuart McMillan, Margaret Mitchell, Oliver Mundell, Douglas Ross, Michael Russell, Liz Smith, Stewart Stevenson, David Stewart, Alexander Stewart, Maree Todd, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle, Andy Wightman

That the Parliament recognises the One in Five campaign’s discussion paper, Scotland 2021; believes that only one self-identifying disabled MSP was elected to the Parliament in 2016; understands that disabled people face additional barriers when seeking elected office; welcomes the Access to Elected Office Fund Scotland, which supports disability-related expenses or support and will enable disabled people to participate fully as candidates or prospective candidates in the 2017 Scottish local authority elections, and encourages all elected representatives to undertake disability equality training.