Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Education Awards Success for Edinburgh Napier University

  • Submitted by: Gordon MacDonald, Edinburgh Pentlands, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 17 June 2024
  • Motion reference: S6M-13656

That the Parliament congratulates the recent achievements of Edinburgh Napier University at The Herald Higher Education Awards 2024, including winning Higher Education Institution of the Year; commends the University on being presented the Widening Access Award for the "Hub for Success", which, it understands, was established to address low rates of higher education admission and retention for care experienced people; highlights the individual award of Outstanding Contribution for a university student given to Shalu Madan for her work on diversity; notes the further success in winning Research Project of the Year, which focused on the carriage of naloxone by police officers to address drug related deaths in Scotland; further notes that the University received a Public Services Award 2024 at the Proud Scotland awards, and wishes the staff and students continued success.

Supported by: George Adam, Clare Adamson, Miles Briggs, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Emma Roddick, Kevin Stewart, Paul Sweeney, Michelle Thomson, Martin Whitfield, Elena Whitham