Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Glasgow to Host the 92nd Interpol General Assembly in 2024

  • Submitted by: Russell Findlay, West Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 25 May 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-09110

That the Parliament congratulates Glasgow on being named as host of the 92nd Interpol General Assembly in 2024, which is due to take place at the Scottish Event Campus from 4 to 7 November 2024; notes that the assembly will bring together over 1,000 delegates, including heads of police, ministers, government officials and Interpol senior leadership from 195 member countries; celebrates the UK’s central role in what is considered to be the largest and most important policing event in the world; notes that Interpol members share a common goal of preventing criminal activity and threats worldwide; believes that the assembly will be a key opportunity to drive innovation and leadership in international cooperation to tackle major crime trends and security threats, including organised crime, terrorism and fraud; agrees with UK Government's security minister, Tom Tugendhat, who said that “Hosting the Interpol General Assembly in Glasgow underlines the UK’s role as a global leader when it comes to security and policing, and demonstrates our steadfast commitment to tackle global threats such as organised crime, terrorism and fraud”; notes that the UK’s National Crime Agency will be the host law enforcement agency for the 2024 assembly; further notes that the assembly in Glasgow will include the elections for 10 key leadership posts, including the new Secretary General, who will play a critical role in coordinating the global response to new emerging threats and criminality, and wishes all delegates a warm welcome during their time in Glasgow.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Jackson Carlaw, Finlay Carson, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Jamie Greene, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Douglas Lumsden, Douglas Ross, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Tess White, Brian Whittle