Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Jamie Halcro Johnston, Highlands and Islands, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 17 March 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08271

That the Parliament notes the successful rescue of two cragfast climbers on Ben Nevis, on 14 March 2023, by the Lochaber Mountain Rescue Team and the Inverness-based Coastguard helicopter; further notes that this was carried out in the dark and has been reported to have been a particularly challenging rescue, requiring great skill by both the mountain rescue team and the helicopter crew; recognises that each year sees many such rescues where local mountain rescue teams and coastguard helicopter crews work together to save lives on Scotland’s mountains, and strongly commends the skill and dedication of Scotland’s volunteer mountain rescue teams and the search and rescue helicopter crews for their role in saving lives.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Donald Cameron, Finlay Carson, Maggie Chapman, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Emma Roddick, Douglas Ross, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Annie Wells, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Brian Whittle