Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Gordon MacDonald, Edinburgh Pentlands, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 20 December 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-07286
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Wednesday, 18 January 2023

That the Parliament commends the ongoing research at the newly opened National Robotarium, based at the Heriot-Watt University campus in Edinburgh and developed in partnership with the University of Edinburgh; understands that the centre is the largest and most advanced applied research facility for robotics and artificial intelligence (AI) in the UK; further understands that the National Robotarium is supported through the £1.3 billion Edinburgh and South East Scotland City Region Deal; considers that the National Robotarium has unrivalled technology and facilities, central to the development and testing of robotics and AI solutions across the three distinct areas of robotics and autonomous systems, human and robot interaction, and high-precision manufacturing; understands that the centre leverages existing research and industry expertise to address global challenges in areas such as hazardous environments, offshore energy, manufacturing, construction, healthcare, human-robot interaction, assisted living, and agritech; applauds what it sees as the ability of the National Robotarium to move innovative products and services rapidly from laboratory to market, to develop new prototypes, and support early stage product development within an incubator environment that drives productivity; thanks staff and researchers at the centre for promoting what it considers Scotland’s role as a world-leading international hub for robotics, autonomous systems and AI, and notes the view that Scotland will need to develop a manufacturing base and train a qualified workforce in order to embrace new opportunities in a future economy driven by modern robotic technology.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Foysol Choudhury, Willie Coffey, Graeme Dey, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Jim Fairlie, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Audrey Nicoll, Alex Rowley, Collette Stevenson, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance