Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Scottish Government Commissioned Review of ME Services and Future Action

  • Submitted by: Sue Webber, Lothian, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 03 October 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-06112
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Thursday, 02 February 2023

That the Parliament notes that the Scottish Government commissioned and welcomed an independently-produced stakeholder review of the NICE guideline on Myalgic Encephalomyelitis/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (ME/CFS), published on 5 July 2022; further notes that the review states that myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME) or chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS) is a complex chronic medical condition affecting an estimated 250,000 people in the UK and that around 20,000 people in Scotland are living with the condition, including in the Lothian region; highlights the four key symptoms characteristic of the condition, which are debilitating fatigue that is worsened by activity, post-exertional malaise (PEM)/symptom exacerbation, unrefreshing sleep and/or sleep disturbance, and cognitive dysfunction, and which affect multiple physiological systems and can fluctuate from mild to very severe in individuals and across the population affected; understands that the review recommends consideration be given to identifying the most effective approaches to improving GP knowledge, confidence and understanding of ME/CFS through an appropriate education programme, and further understands that the review recommends that pilot services should be funded in a selection of NHS boards to test the development of specialist services with patient involvement and third sector collaboration embedded in the design.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Claire Baker, Jeremy Balfour, Sarah Boyack, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Ariane Burgess, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Bob Doris, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Jim Fairlie, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Christine Grahame, Rhoda Grant, Jamie Greene, Ross Greer, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Rachael Hamilton, Craig Hoy, Fiona Hyslop, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Gillian Mackay, Michael Marra, Gillian Martin, Roz McCall, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Jenni Minto, Carol Mochan, Edward Mountain, Audrey Nicoll, Willie Rennie, Emma Roddick, Douglas Ross, Alex Rowley, Mark Ruskell, Liz Smith, Colin Smyth, Alexander Stewart, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Mercedes Villalba, Annie Wells, Tess White, Martin Whitfield, Brian Whittle, Beatrice Wishart