Motions, Questions and Answers Search

We've released the first version of our new website and are looking for your feedback. Take a look and give us your views:

Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Migrants' Rights Day

That the Parliament welcomes the Migrants' Rights Day celebrations that will take place across the country on 18 December 2012; notes that the date marks the 22nd anniversary of the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families, adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1990; appreciates the continuing contribution that migrants from around the world make to Scotland, both economically and culturally, and continues to support people seeking sanctuary and solace in Scotland; commends the work of the organisation, Migrants' Rights Scotland, in its bid to promote the rights of all migrants, regardless of where they are from and acknowledges their commitment to providing support for migrant community organisations (MCOs), and understands that Migrants' Rights Scotland supports MCOs in representing themselves more effectively in the immigration system by sharing information and building on existing knowledge and campaigns on their behalf for justice across all social policy areas.

Supported by: Bill Kidd, John Finnie, Stuart McMillan, Aileen McLeod, Hanzala Malik, John Mason, Mike MacKenzie, Chic Brodie, Roderick Campbell, David Torrance, Joan McAlpine, Dennis Robertson, Mary Fee, Kevin Stewart, Neil Findlay, Liam McArthur, Richard Lyle, Rob Gibson, Patrick Harvie, Jean Urquhart, Colin Beattie, Christine Grahame, Drew Smith, Jamie Hepburn, James Dornan, Maureen Watt, Alison Johnstone, Colin Keir, Bob Doris, Dave Thompson, Annabelle Ewing, Gil Paterson, Linda Fabiani, Annabel Goldie, Angus MacDonald

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 18/12/2012
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.