Election 2021

The Scottish Parliament is in recess ahead of the election on 6 May.

Because of Covid-19, there are some changes to how the Parliament prepares for the election.

Find out more in our Election 2021 pages

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

About Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)


Why you have 8 MSPs

Everyone in Scotland is represented by 8 MSPs.

There are 2 types of MSPs. You can contact either type of MSP about any issue dealt with by the Scottish Parliament.

You have:

  • 1 MSP who represents your local area – known as a "constituency MSP"
  • 7 MSPs who represent the larger area that includes your constituency – known as "regional MSPs"