Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Scottish Tourism Month 2022

  • Submitted by: Evelyn Tweed, Stirling, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 01 February 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-02970
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Tuesday, 22 March 2022

That the Parliament recognises that March is Scottish Tourism Month; understands that the aim of this is to engage, connect and inspire all of Scotland’s tourism businesses and organisations, as well as celebrate what it sees as the enormous contribution that tourism makes to Scotland; considers that the sector has been severely impacted over the course of the COVID-19 pandemic; understands what it sees as the importance of tourism to a sustainable recovery, with the sector reportedly worth £11.5 billion pre-pandemic and accounting for 8.5% of jobs in Scotland; welcomes the opportunities that the industry provides to people, places, businesses and communities by, it considers, acting as a stimulus for entrepreneurialism and investment, the benefits of which it believes spread far beyond tourism; further believes tourism to be a force for good across the country, enriching the economy, communities and environment; commends what it sees as Scottish tourism’s significant contribution toward Scotland’s profile on the world stage; considers that tourism can also play an important part in promoting wellness, particularly as people emerge from long periods of isolation brought about by the pandemic, and notes the view that it will take investment, support and time for the industry to fully recover to pre-pandemic levels.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Claire Baker, Colin Beattie, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Katy Clark, Willie Coffey, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Jim Fairlie, Murdo Fraser, Kenneth Gibson, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Colin Smyth, Kaukab Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance