Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-02751

The University of Dundee’s Jainti Dass Saggar Memorial Scholarship for Excellence

Submitted by: Michael Marra, North East Scotland, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Thursday, January 13, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Miles Briggs, Donald Cameron, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Joe FitzPatrick, Pam Gosal, Craig Hoy, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, Ruth Maguire, Stuart McMillan, Paul O'Kane, Paul Sweeney, Mercedes Villalba, Sue Webber, Martin Whitfield

That the Parliament congratulates Ananya Bhatt, winner of the University of Dundee’s Jainti Dass Saggar Memorial Scholarship for Excellence; recognises that the scholarship is named for Dr Jainti Dass Saggar, one of Scotland’s earliest Indian students who devoted his life to improving the lives and conditions of the people of Dundee and beyond; understands that Dr Saggar, born in the Punjab in 1898, arrived in Dundee in 1919, and qualified as a GP just four years later; believes that Dr Saggar would go on to be elected as Scotland’s first Asian or black local authority councillor after standing for election for the Labour Party in 1936; welcomes the scholarship as further evidence of Dundee’s proud international history, and wishes the current holder and all future recipients the best for the future.