Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Mineworkers' Pension Scheme

  • Submitted by: Christine Grahame, Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Thursday, 17 June 2021
  • Motion reference: S6M-00430
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Thursday, 09 September 2021

That the Parliament notes the recent report by the UK Parliament’s Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Select Committee into the Mineworkers' Pension Scheme; understands that the scheme, established in 1994, meant a 50/50 split in surplus sharing between the miners and the UK Government and that, to date, the UK Government has received £4.4 billion, with at least a further £1.9 billion due and the UK Government paying nothing into the fund; further understands, however, that many beneficiaries are struggling to make ends meet, including those in the Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale constituency; notes that the committee therefore recommended amending the 50/50 surplus sharing arrangements in the miners’ favour, and immediately giving the £1.2 billion currently held in the Investment Reserve to former miners; understands that the Welsh Government has registered support for these recommendations, and notes the calls on the Scottish Government to do likewise.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Jackie Baillie, Colin Beattie, Siobhian Brown, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Richard Leonard, Fulton MacGregor, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Paul McLennan, Stuart McMillan, Carol Mochan, Alex Rowley, Lorna Slater, Colin Smyth, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed, Mercedes Villalba