Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Elaine Holmes and Olive McIlroy Achieve Lifetime Inspiration Award

  • Submitted by: Jackson Carlaw, Eastwood, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 08 March 2019
  • Motion reference: S5M-16246

That the Parliament congratulates Elaine Holmes and Olive McIlroy, who founded the Scottish Mesh Survivors campaign group, on winning the top prize, the Amazing Lifetime Inspiration Award, at the No.1 Amazing Women Awards held at the Old Fruit Market in Glasgow on 7 March 2019; acknowledges that this is the second annual No.1 Amazing Women Awards and that the purpose of the event is to celebrate the achievements of incredible women in Scotland; commends Elaine, who is resident in Eastwood, and Olive, for their heroic efforts in leading the Scottish Mesh Survivors campaign and fighting to ensure justice for all of the women in Scotland who have suffered the consequences of damaging mesh procedures; agrees that they are an outstanding choice for the Amazing Lifetime Inspiration Award, and congratulates them on yet another well-deserved achievement.

Supported by: Jeremy Balfour, Michelle Ballantyne, Bill Bowman, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Peter Chapman, Maurice Corry, Neil Findlay, Maurice Golden, Jamie Greene, Alison Harris, Liam Kerr, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Tom Mason, Margaret Mitchell, Alex Neil, John Scott, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, David Torrance, Annie Wells