Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Justice for Yazidi People

  • Submitted by: Ben Macpherson, Edinburgh Northern and Leith, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Tuesday, 21 February 2017
  • Motion reference: S5M-04130
  • Current status: Taken in the Chamber on Thursday, 23 March 2017

That the Parliament is mindful that genocide is a crime under international law and the law of all civilised nations; is further mindful that the UN has identified genocide as an odious scourge, which has inflicted great losses on humanity and from which people must be liberated; reiterates Scotland’s commitment to human dignity, human rights and equality, to celebrating cultural, religious, linguistic and ethnic diversity, and to promoting tolerance and upholding fundamental freedoms for all people; recognises and condemns the genocide perpetrated against the Yazidi people by Daesh; acknowledges the great human suffering and loss that have been inflicted by bigotry, brutality and religious intolerance; further acknowledges and condemns the crimes perpetrated by Daesh against Muslims, Christians, Arabs, Kurds and all of the religious and ethnic communities of Iraq and Syria; welcomes the actions of the US Congress, the European Parliament, the French Senate, the UN and others in formally recognising the genocide; draws attention to the unopposed motion agreed by the UK Parliament on 20 April 2016; notes the calls from people in Edinburgh Northern and Leith and across the country for the UK Government to take immediate and resolute action in support of international efforts to prevent further atrocities, and to meet its international obligation to provide refuge to those at risk of persecution, and further notes the calls on the UK Government to request that the UN Security Council refer the genocide committed against the Yazidi people to the International Criminal Court.

Supported by: Clare Adamson, Tom Arthur, Colin Beattie, Bob Doris, John Finnie, Kenneth Gibson, Ross Greer, Clare Haughey, Bill Kidd, Richard Lyle, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, John Mason, Joan McAlpine, Liam McArthur, Ivan McKee, Christina McKelvie, Stuart McMillan, Pauline McNeill, Ash Regan, Gail Ross, Alex Rowley, Elaine Smith, David Torrance, Sandra White, Andy Wightman