Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

75th Anniversary of International Credit Union Day

  • Submitted by: Tess White, North East Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 20 October 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-10895

That the Parliament recognises the 75th anniversary of International Credit Union Day, which takes place on 19 October 2023, when credit unions across the world will join in celebration; considers that International Credit Union Day provides an opportunity for members to engage, share experiences and reflect upon the accomplishments of the credit union movement throughout Scotland to date; understands that there are currently 83 Scottish Credit Unions, with the highest recorded number of adult members now at 385,386, along with 37,419 juvenile depositors in Scotland; commends what it considers the good work being done by the credit union movement throughout Scotland to offer a real, meaningful alternative in Scotland’s financial services sector; acknowledges that International Credit Union Day has been celebrated on the third Thursday of October dating back to 1948, and encourages the credit union movement in Scotland to draw upon examples of good practice seen throughout the world as it moves forward to support future development.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Jackson Carlaw, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Kenneth Gibson, Maurice Golden, Pam Gosal, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Craig Hoy, Liam Kerr, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Douglas Lumsden, John Mason, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Edward Mountain, Douglas Ross, Colin Smyth, Alexander Stewart, Kevin Stewart (Registered interest) , Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Annie Wells, Brian Whittle