Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Prestonpans Civic Square Scottish Design Awards

  • Submitted by: Martin Whitfield, South Scotland, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 03 July 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-09851

That the Parliament congratulates Rankinfraser Landscape Architecture, Narro, Irons Foulner, Morham & Brotchie and Alliance CDM on winning the Scottish Design Awards Chair Award for Architecture, which was awarded by Heather Claridge for Prestonpans Civic Square; notes that Prestonpans Civic Square is the principal public space in the East Lothian coastal town and that the regeneration of the square was driven by Prestonpans Community Council, in partnership with East Lothian Council and the Preston Seton Gosford Area Partnership, and further notes that the design sought to recognise the historic significance of the memorial and its current setting within a walled enclosure designed in the 1950s, and that the removal of the viewing platform returned the memorial to the centre of the space, becoming the main focus once again.

Supported by: Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Pam Gosal, Roz McCall, Stuart McMillan, Pauline McNeill, Paul O'Kane, Colin Smyth, Paul Sweeney, Sue Webber, Tess White