Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Paul O'Kane, West Scotland, Scottish Labour.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 17 March 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-08272

That the Parliament celebrates the launch of Diabetes Scotland’s campaign, Diabetes Tech Can’t Wait; considers that Scotland has led the way in advances in diabetes care and technology, from John J R Macleod jointly winning the Nobel Prize in 1923 for discovering insulin, through to the development of the insulin pen by a team led by Dr Sheila Reith, in the early 1980s; understands that the Diabetes Tech Can’t Wait campaign seeks to build on the progress of the £14.6 million that the Scottish Government, following recommendations by the Scottish Health Technologies Group, provided to NHS boards to support the roll-out of the hybrid closed loop, often called the "artificial pancreas", technologies across Scotland; believes that technology is essential to providing life-changing support to help people manage diabetes through using wearable technology such as pumps, continuous glucose monitoring, flash glucose monitoring, and hybrid closed loop systems, transforming the lives of people with diabetes and helping to ensure that people avoid life-changing complications; considers that there are too many people in Scotland who cannot yet access diabetes technology and whose lives would be markedly improved if they had access to the appropriate technology to improve the management of their condition, and commits to the expansion of access to diabetes technology to ensure that every person with diabetes has access to the most appropriate form of technology to best manage their condition and improve their quality of life.

Supported by: Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Donald Cameron (Registered interest) , Foysol Choudhury, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Dr. Sandesh Gulhane, Emma Harper, Craig Hoy, Monica Lennon, Douglas Lumsden, Fulton MacGregor, Liam McArthur, Carol Mochan, Oliver Mundell, Anas Sarwar, Paul Sweeney, Mercedes Villalba, Tess White, Beatrice Wishart