Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Chamber and committees

Cycling Without Age Scotland Recipients of The Queen’s Green Canopy, Tree of Trees

  • Submitted by: Michelle Thomson, Falkirk East, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Monday, 30 January 2023
  • Motion reference: S6M-07662

That the Parliament congratulates Cycling Without Age Scotland on being selected as a recipient of a commemorative rowan tree as part of The Queen’s Green Canopy (QGC) Tree of Trees initiative; understands that the QGC initiative was set up as part of the late monarch’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations, and that Cycling Without Age Scotland received one of these special commemorative rowan trees in honour of its contribution to the local community; notes that the occasion was marked by a planting ceremony at The Kelpies, Helix Park, Falkirk, on 20 January 2023; recognises that Cycling Without Age first began work in the UK in 2012, with the organisation first being introduced to Scotland in 2017; further recognises that Cycling Without Age in Scotland was initially trialled by the Communities Along the Carron Association, at Carrondale Care Home; understands that Cycling Without Age Scotland now operates across the Scotland, with around 50 localised groups, each supported by volunteers helping to enrich and enhance the lives of older and vulnerable people in their communities; congratulates Cycling Without Age Scotland on the recognition it received from the QGC Tree of Trees initiative, and wishes everyone involved all the best for the future.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Natalie Don, Sharon Dowey, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Murdo Fraser, Meghan Gallacher, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Stephen Kerr, Bill Kidd, Ruth Maguire, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed