Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

  • Submitted by: Kaukab Stewart, Glasgow Kelvin, Scottish National Party.
  • Date lodged: Friday, 18 November 2022
  • Motion reference: S6M-06810

That the Parliament congratulates City of Glasgow College on being the recipient of a global Award for Excellence from the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM); understands that the EFQM assessment process took six months to complete and involved seven highly experienced global assessors undertaking over 30 deep dive assessment meetings with more than 200 Team City colleagues from across the college, including lecturers, student association, concierge and reception staff, and a host of managers from across learning and teaching and support services; further understands that the quality of City of Glasgow College’s work merited the elite 7-Diamond world ranking, making it the first organization in Scotland to receive this ranking, which has been achieved by fewer than 10 organisations in the world to date; notes that assessors reported that the college particularly excels in the following areas: culture of change and innovation, a clear purpose and identity to drive inspiration, excellence and innovation, people-focused organisation with a culture of trust and involvement, mature and responsible governance system, future fit programs and strong and structured students relations; congratulates the college on finishing third overall in the world in EFQM’s global benchmarking ranking and for being awarded an Outstanding Achievement Global Award for Driving Innovation; considers that these awards represent an impressive and well deserved endorsement of City of Glasgow College as a world-class institution, and commends City of Glasgow College on achieving this success on the global stage.

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Colin Beattie, Stephanie Callaghan, Foysol Choudhury, Graeme Dey, Bob Doris, Jackie Dunbar, Pam Duncan-Glancy, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Stuart McMillan, Jenni Minto, Audrey Nicoll, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance