Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-06016

North Lanarkshire Council Domestic Abuse Housing Policy

Submitted by: Monica Lennon, Central Scotland, Scottish Labour.
Date lodged: Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Jackie Baillie, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, Sharon Dowey, Jim Fairlie, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Fulton MacGregor, Stuart McMillan, Graham Simpson, Paul Sweeney, Mercedes Villalba, Martin Whitfield

That the Parliament welcomes the recent report submitted to North Lanarkshire Council’s Housing Committee which it understands endorsed a specialised Domestic Abuse Housing Policy for tenants experiencing domestic abuse; notes the role of North Lanarkshire's Violence Against Women Strategic Group and Operational Group in achieving this policy; understands that it was agreed by the Committee; notes the steps taken by Housing Services and partners in the public and voluntary sectors to co-ordinate domestic abuse prevention and improve outcomes for survivors; believes that there are structural inequalities underpinning domestic abuse, whereby violence is predominantly carried out by men against women, and calls on all local authorities to engage partners in producing similar policies which, it believes, will help to ensure sanctuary and professional care for survivors of domestic abuse.

Amendments that have not been voted on

Motion ref. S6M-06016.1

North Lanarkshire Council Domestic Abuse Housing Policy - Amendment

Submitted by: Fulton MacGregor, Coatbridge and Chryston, Scottish National Party, Date lodged: Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Siobhian Brown, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, James Dornan, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Audrey Nicoll, Michelle Thomson, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed
Current status: Taken in the chamber on Monday, January 1, 0001