Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-04223

Muirhead Butchers Win UK Butcher's Shop of the Year

Submitted by: Fulton MacGregor, Coatbridge and Chryston, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Tuesday, May 3, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Alasdair Allan, Jeremy Balfour, Colin Beattie, Miles Briggs, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Bob Doris, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Kenneth Gibson, Pam Gosal, Bill Kidd, Rona Mackay, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Marie McNair, Audrey Nicoll, Alexander Stewart, Paul Sweeney, David Torrance, Evelyn Tweed

That the Parliament congratulates Muirhead business, S. Collins & Son Butchers, on winning the UK Butcher's Shop of the Year Award; notes that this is the third time that the business has won the award, after picking up the accolade in 2012 and 2017, and that the business first opened in Coatbridge in 1955, before moving to its current Muirhead location in 1979; understands that the butcher's shop is now in its third generation of family ownership; further understands that, along with butcher’s shop of the year, the business also previously won such awards as the West of Scotland Pork Sausage Champion, came first in the Food and Drink Lanarkshire Business Excellence Awards, was double national champion at the Q Guild BBQ Competition, winner of Scotland's Best Burger 2018 and of Butcher's Shop of Year Display competition, and won several other titles, and wishes continued success for all at S. Collins & Son Butchers into the future.