Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Motion ref. S6M-04041

Coatbridge High School Supports Ukraine Through Fundraising and Donation Appeal

Submitted by: Fulton MacGregor, Coatbridge and Chryston, Scottish National Party.
Date lodged: Friday, April 22, 2022

Supported by: Karen Adam, Clare Adamson, Jeremy Balfour, Miles Briggs, Siobhian Brown, Alexander Burnett, Stephanie Callaghan, Maggie Chapman, Foysol Choudhury, James Dornan, Sharon Dowey, Jackie Dunbar, Annabelle Ewing, Russell Findlay, Pam Gosal, Emma Harper, Bill Kidd, Monica Lennon, Ruth Maguire, Gillian Martin, Stuart McMillan, Paul Sweeney

That the Parliament recognises what it sees as the tremendous efforts of Coatbridge High School and the wider community for their recent appeal for humanitarian donations for those in Ukraine; understands that Deputy Head Teacher, Rebecca Mills, and Catriona Stewart were integral to the success of the donation appeal; further understands that eight van loads of donations were collected; gives particular credit to pupils, Samuel Docherty, Hannah Hyland and Michelle Noble, who sorted the donations; praises Coatbridge High School for also holding a UNICEF fundraiser; understands that pupils Innes MacDonald, Cal Gilkison and Ben Pardoe were instrumental to this fundraiser by way of collecting change; further understands that the aspiring chef and pupil, Kiyan Mulhearn, sold homemade tablet and "krispy cakes", and congratulates the school on raising £1,000 for UNICEF with these initiatives.