Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


Chamber and committees

Question reference: S6W-13181

  • Asked by: Graham Simpson, MSP for Central Scotland, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party
  • Date lodged: 13 December 2022
  • Current status: Answered by Keith Brown on 22 December 2022


To ask the Scottish Government what the qualifying criteria are for recipients of the St Andrew's Award for exceptional acts of bravery.


Thank you for your question. The criteria for emergency workers differ from that of the public. For emergency workers, the criteria are:

The individual (or team) acted beyond the normal expectation of them and made a deliberate decision to do so in the knowledge of the dangers / risks involved e.g., where the incident escalated unexpectedly beyond the initial assessment and the individual had to adapt their training or improvise to achieve the desired outcome.

The individual (or team) displayed outstanding bravery in the knowledge of significant risk or danger to their own life whilst protecting or attempting to protect another person. Consideration of the UK Gallantry Award System may also come into play in these situations.

The individual (or team) showed personal courage in the face of violent or unpredictable circumstances.

Where the individual (or team) made a significant contribution to reducing risk to the public and preventing future deaths or injuries.

Where an individual or team has gone beyond the expected contribution to their service and has through determination, innovation and persistent effort overcome obstacles resulting in a quantifiable contribution to public safety.