Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Cycle Capacity on Scotland's Railways

That the Parliament notes the calls on Transport Scotland and ScotRail to reverse reported plans to reduce available cycle space on trains serving intermediate stations on the Edinburgh/Glasgow - Inverness and East Coast main lines; understands that, on 25 February 2015, the ScotRail Franchise Delivery Team informed a meeting at the Parliament that there would be improvements in 2018-19, with the introduction of four and five coach InterCity 125 High Speed Trains and an expectation that these would carry at least 20 cycles; further understands that the cycling campaign group, Spokes, has discovered that the increase in bike space has been gradually reduced, which means that, for the stations on these lines, there will be fewer spaces for cycles than at present; believes that almost all ScotRail trains are Class 170 Turbostars with four official bike spaces and that, although the new plans include a total of eight bike spaces, six can only be used at the termini, with only two spaces available for stations other than the departure and arrival points; notes the calls on Transport Scotland and the ScotRail Alliance to recognise the immense contribution that it considers cyclists bring to local economies, especially in the Highlands and the north east, and further notes the calls on the Scottish Government to bring pressure on Transport Scotland and ScotRail to reverse this decision and increase cycle space on Scotland’s railways, as it understands was promised in 2015.

Supported by: John Lamont, Peter Chapman, Graham Simpson, Jeremy Balfour, Andy Wightman, Oliver Mundell, Alexander Stewart, Douglas Ross, Dean Lockhart, Donald Cameron, Miles Briggs, Maurice Corry, Murdo Fraser, Finlay Carson, Ross Thomson, Liz Smith, Mark Ruskell, Annie Wells, Alison Harris, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Alison Johnstone, Neil Findlay, Patrick Harvie, Margaret Mitchell, Anas Sarwar, Iain Gray, Gordon Lindhurst, Alexander Burnett, Brian Whittle, Daniel Johnson, Bill Bowman, Claudia Beamish, Edward Mountain, Jamie Greene, Rachael Hamilton, Johann Lamont, Maurice Golden

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 24/05/2017
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.