Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Page size:
 337 items in 34 pages

To ask the First Minister how many families will benefit from the policy of free school meals.

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 08/01/2015

To ask the First Minister how many children receive free school meals.

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 07/01/2016
Former Paisley-Mill Worker’s Son Raises Awareness of People with Dementia and their Carers

That the Parliament recognises the efforts of Tommy Whitelaw in raising awareness of the varying forms of dementia and the condition's effects on families and carers; notes that Tommy is on a 150-mile trek across Scotland, visiting some of the nation's landmarks to highlight the roles played by those caring for someone with the condition, including Tommy's mother, a former mill worker from Paisley; further notes the wide support that Tommy is receiving from organisations including Alzheimer Scotland, Carers Scotland, local groups, employers, football clubs and schools, and acknowledges the innovative step of collecting letters from carers during the hike, detailing their experiences.

Supported by: Fiona McLeod, Bob Doris, Jamie McGrigor, Jackie Baillie, Kevin Stewart, Maureen Watt, Jackson Carlaw, Derek Mackay, Joe FitzPatrick, Colin Keir, Angus MacDonald, Bill Kidd, Kenneth Gibson, Mike MacKenzie, Claudia Beamish, Colin Beattie, Joan McAlpine, Jamie Hepburn, Annabelle Ewing, Richard Lyle, Hugh Henry, Gil Paterson, Humza Yousaf, Stuart McMillan, Adam Ingram, Margaret McDougall

Current Status: Fallen on 05/10/2011
Paisley Playwright and Carer Conveys Family Life and Autism

That the Parliament recognises the achievements of Sandra Webster, a parent carer from Paisley, whose play, Safety Net, has been produced by the National Theatre of Scotland; recognises the challenges that children with autism and their families can face; considers that these are portrayed with dignity and humour in the play, and, in Carers Week 2011, acknowledges the contribution made by all carers.

Supported by: Jean Urquhart, Rob Gibson, Joan McAlpine, Colin Beattie, Stewart Maxwell, Kevin Stewart, Fiona McLeod, Mary Fee, Roderick Campbell, Christina McKelvie, Mike MacKenzie, Humza Yousaf, Alison Johnstone, Richard Lyle, Annabelle Ewing, Jim Eadie, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, Dave Thompson, Mark McDonald, Derek Mackay, Paul Wheelhouse, Aileen McLeod, Gil Paterson, Bob Doris, Joe FitzPatrick, Jamie Hepburn, Stuart McMillan, Elaine Smith

Current Status: Fallen on 05/10/2011
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders Awarded Freedom of Renfrewshire

That the Parliament congratulates the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders on being awarded the freedom of Renfrewshire; recognises the efforts of all those who have previously served in the regiment and those currently serving in the reorganised 5th Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Scotland (5 SCOTS); acknowledges the goodwill of the people of Renfrewshire, and considers that the battalion’s march through Paisley on 20 June 2011 is a fitting way to celebrate the award.

Supported by: Stuart McMillan, Kenneth Gibson, Neil Bibby, Jamie McGrigor, Jim Hume, Mark McDonald, Colin Beattie, Humza Yousaf, Richard Lyle, Paul Wheelhouse, Sandra White, Mary Fee, Mike MacKenzie, Stewart Maxwell, Maureen Watt, Bob Doris, Ken Macintosh, Kevin Stewart, Roderick Campbell, Jackie Baillie, Derek Mackay, Joan McAlpine, Adam Ingram, David Torrance, Annabelle Ewing, Hugh Henry

Current Status: Fallen on 05/10/2011
YMCA Re-established in Paisley

That the Parliament recognises the re-establishing of the YMCA in Paisley town centre, an organisation which has already served the town for over a century;  appreciates the work carried out by the charity over this time and welcomes the new look office and out-reach projects that will ensure this good work will now continue.

Supported by: Dennis Robertson, Humza Yousaf, Stewart Maxwell, Kenneth Gibson, Adam Ingram, Willie Coffey, Chic Brodie, Kevin Stewart, Stuart McMillan, Bill Kidd, David Torrance, Neil Bibby, Jamie Hepburn, Joan McAlpine, Gil Paterson, Derek Mackay

Current Status: Fallen on 05/12/2011
Paisley Celebrates Sma Shot Day 2011

That the Parliament congratulates Renfrewshire Council on hosting another successful Sma Shot Day, an event that celebrates an historic wage victory for weavers over their employers in 19th century Paisley; applauds the participants of the parade who marched from Brodie Park to Abbey Close in the town centre to take part in the customary burning of the cork; praises the hard work of the activity organisers, including PACE Theatre Company’s performance of The Sma Shot story, and looks forward to the event returning in 2012.

Supported by: Dennis Robertson, Stewart Maxwell, Humza Yousaf, Kenneth Gibson, Willie Coffey, Chic Brodie, Maureen Watt, Kevin Stewart, Stuart McMillan, David Torrance, Bill Kidd, Neil Bibby, Joan McAlpine, Gil Paterson, Derek Mackay

Current Status: Fallen on 05/12/2011
Paisley Welcomes Investment in Tennis

That the Parliament congratulates the Lawn Tennis Association and Renfrewshire Council on the forthcoming £160,000 redevelopment of the Brodie Park tennis courts in Paisley; welcomes the visit of Scotland’s number one tennis player, Andy Murray, along with his brother, Jamie, and national coach, Judith Murray, and is confident that the visit combined with the new investment will see a new generation of talented tennis players unfold in Paisley and Renfrewshire

Supported by: Mark McDonald, Gordon MacDonald, Dennis Robertson, Stuart McMillan, Jackson Carlaw, Mary Fee, James Dornan, Adam Ingram, Willie Coffey, Humza Yousaf, Jamie McGrigor, Kevin Stewart, Gil Paterson, Bill Kidd, Chic Brodie, Mike MacKenzie, Joan McAlpine, Paul Wheelhouse, Stewart Maxwell, Derek Mackay, Maureen Watt

Current Status: Fallen on 05/12/2011
Paisley Pipe Band Championship

That the Parliament congratulates all those involved in the annual Paisley Pipe Band Championship held on 23 July 2011 in Paisley town centre; recognises the work of Renfrewshire Council, Paisley Vision Board, the Royal Scottish Pipe Band Association and the pipe bands themselves in making the event such a success; considers that such a successful event to be of benefit to visitors, residents and businesses in the town, and looks forward to the return of the competition next year.

Supported by: Humza Yousaf, Adam Ingram, Mark McDonald, Bill Kidd, Stuart McMillan, Dennis Robertson, Jean Urquhart, Alex Johnstone, Jamie McGrigor, Kenneth Gibson, Derek Mackay, Kevin Stewart, Chic Brodie, John Wilson, Colin Keir, James Dornan, Jackson Carlaw, David Torrance, Paul Wheelhouse, Maureen Watt, Joan McAlpine, Stewart Maxwell, Margaret McDougall, Rob Gibson, Jamie Hepburn, Jim Eadie

Current Status: Fallen on 05/12/2011
Paisley, Home of Scottish Under-21’s Football

That the Parliament congratulates St Mirren Football Club and the Scottish Football Association on their selection of St Mirren Park in Paisley as the first home of the Scottish national under-21’s football team; believes the 8,000 all-seated stadium to be the best choice in showcasing Scotland’s footballers of tomorrow, and wishes the side every success in its UEFA European Under-21 Championship qualification campaign, which begins in September 2011.

Supported by: Mark McDonald, Rob Gibson, Jamie McGrigor, Kenneth Gibson, Bill Kidd, David Torrance, Dennis Robertson, Neil Bibby, Adam Ingram, Richard Lyle, Derek Mackay, Stuart McMillan, Paul Wheelhouse, Stewart Maxwell

Current Status: Fallen on 05/12/2011
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.