Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Street Pastors Scotland, 10th Anniversary

That the Parliament recognises the 10th anniversary of Street Pastors Scotland; notes that the initiative was pioneered in London in 2003 by Les Isaac and that, since then, over 14,000 street pastors have been trained, with over 20,000 volunteers now associated with the organisation; understands that, in 2010, the Ascension Trust (Scotland) was launched in the Parliament to take responsibility for the street pastor teams across Scotland; notes that there are around 600 street pastors in 23 Scottish communities, major cities and large and small towns in the Mid Scotland and Fife parliamentary region, as well as in Orkney and Lewis; believes that Street Pastors Scotland put its Christian faith to good use in order to improve community relations and the safety of the night-time economy, and wishes the movement and the street pastors all the best.

Supported by: Liam Kerr, Dean Lockhart, Liz Smith, Alexander Stewart, Miles Briggs, Bill Bowman, Alexander Burnett, Richard Lochhead, Edward Mountain, Gordon Lindhurst, Jeremy Balfour, Donald Cameron, Margaret Mitchell, Colin Beattie, Stewart Stevenson, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Rachael Hamilton, Bill Kidd, Richard Lyle, John Mason, Alison Harris, Jackson Carlaw, Jackie Baillie, Brian Whittle, Sandra White, John Scott, Stuart McMillan

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 19/12/2017
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.