Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Scotland's Apprentice of the Year

That the Parliament congratulates Amy Garrick, who has just completed a four-year apprenticeship as an electrician with Shetland Islands Council, on being named Scottish Apprentice of the Year; understands that the award is co-sponsored by the Scottish Joint Industry Board and Edmundson Electrical; considers Amy’s victory to be of particular relevance, given the low number of female employees in the science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) sector, as highlighted in the Royal Society of Edinburgh’s report, Tapping all our Talents; acknowledges the potential for Amy’s victory to encourage more women to explore careers in the STEM sector, and wishes Amy and her fellow nominees success for their future careers.

Supported by: Alison Johnstone, Angus MacDonald, Stuart McMillan, Willie Coffey, Stewart Stevenson, Chic Brodie, Dennis Robertson, John Finnie, Joan McAlpine, Adam Ingram, Mary Scanlon, David Torrance, Dave Thompson, Mike MacKenzie, Richard Lyle, Roderick Campbell, Rob Gibson, Neil Findlay, Bruce Crawford, Anne McTaggart, Kevin Stewart, Nigel Don, Christina McKelvie, Claudia Beamish, Sandra White, Gil Paterson, Rhoda Grant, Colin Beattie, John Park, Annabelle Ewing, Gordon MacDonald, Jim Eadie, Stewart Maxwell, Maureen Watt, Jamie McGrigor, Bill Walker, Elaine Smith, Fiona McLeod, Colin Keir, Jamie Hepburn

Current Status: Fallen on 29/01/2013
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.