Scottish Parliament Committees: Current List of Members

This Fact Sheet lists the membership of all current committees in the Scottish Parliament. It is arranged alphabetically by the name of the committee. 

Committees play a central part in the work of the Parliament – taking evidence from witnesses, scrutinising legislation and conducting inquiries. Most committees meet weekly or fortnightly, usually on Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday mornings, in one of the Scottish Parliament's committee rooms – or in locations around Scotland. 

Each committee has a Convener and a Deputy Convener. Conveners convene and chair meetings but are not required to be impartial. Deputy Conveners can also chair meetings and cover for the Convener. 

Under Rule 6.3A of the Standing Orders of the Scottish Parliament, a political party represented by five or more Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) may nominate a member of that party to be a substitute (referred to as a "committee substitute") for the members of that party on a particular committee. These committee substitutes must be approved by the Parliament on a motion of the Parliamentary Bureau. 

Published: 17 September 2020

Abbreviation   Party
 Con  Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 
 Green  Scottish Green Party
 Ind  Independent
 Lab  Scottish Labour Party
 LD  Scottish Liberal Democrats
 NPA  No Party Affiliation
 SNP  Scottish National Party

Committee Remits

Please visit our Committees pages for more information.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.