Motions, Questions and Answers Search


Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

50 Years of Cruachan Power Station

That the Parliament congratulates Scottish Power on the 50th anniversary of the opening of the Cruachan Power Station, which, when it was commissioned in October 1965, was one of the first reversible pump storage power stations in the world and one of only four pump storage power stations in the UK; notes that it took over 4,000 workers to dig out the 220,000 cubic metres of rock to create the "Hollow Mountain" and that 36 of them died during the six years of construction; is aware of the role of the station in any black start of the electricity grid and the contribution that it makes to ensuring continuity of supply during times of peak demand; expresses support for the feasibility study being undertaken to explore the possibility of a major upgrade to the station that would double its capacity, and encourages everyone who has not yet done so to visit what it considers this remarkable triumph of Scottish design, construction and engineering, which has been rightly recognised by Docomomo Scotland as one of the 60 key monuments of post-war Scottish architecture.

Supported by: Jamie McGrigor, Nanette Milne, Liz Smith, Roderick Campbell, John Mason, Mary Scanlon, Graeme Pearson, John Wilson, Margaret Mitchell, Joan McAlpine, Adam Ingram, David Stewart, Kevin Stewart, Rob Gibson, Jean Urquhart, Mike MacKenzie, Anne McTaggart, Graeme Dey, Richard Lyle, Christina McKelvie, Bill Kidd, Elaine Murray, Kenneth Gibson, Clare Adamson, Gil Paterson, Angus MacDonald, David Torrance, Fiona McLeod, Stewart Maxwell, Bruce Crawford, Mark McDonald, Dennis Robertson

Current Status: Fallen on 19/01/2016
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.