Motions, Questions and Answers Search

We've released the first version of our new website and are looking for your feedback. Take a look and give us your views:

Motions, Questions and Answers Search Help

Give Them Time

That the Parliament notes the aims of the campaign, Give Them Time, which has been set up by parents in Coatbridge and Chryston and across Scotland to share their experiences of applying for a further year of nursery funding for their child to defer starting P1; understands that the campaign's national survey found that only 19% of parents knew about the legal right to defer children born between September and December, compared with 80% knowing that children born in January and February can be; notes the view that this demonstrates a need for further awareness raising; acknowledges the reported inconsistences experienced by parents who wish to defer their children in terms of local authority responses and provision of nursery funding; notes that deferment should be the decision of the parent or legal guardian, and notes the call for local authorities to implement the law in Scotland as it stands and for them to support all parents who choose to defer their four-year-olds.

Supported by: Kenneth Gibson, Joan McAlpine, Jeremy Balfour, Richard Lyle, Stuart McMillan, Alison Harris, Annabelle Ewing, Iain Gray, James Kelly, David Stewart, Claire Baker, Bill Kidd, Murdo Fraser, Colin Smyth, John Finnie, Lewis Macdonald, Jamie Halcro Johnston, Stewart Stevenson, Maurice Golden, Jenny Gilruth, Jackson Carlaw, Liz Smith, Elaine Smith, Gillian Martin, Liam McArthur, Jackie Baillie, Rhoda Grant, Sandra White, David Torrance, Alexander Burnett, Liam Kerr, Willie Rennie, Andy Wightman, Ross Greer, Patrick Harvie, Alex Rowley, Mark Ruskell, Bob Doris, Alison Johnstone, Johann Lamont, Clare Adamson, Brian Whittle, Mary Fee, Gail Ross, Willie Coffey, Maurice Corry, Maureen Watt, Neil Findlay, Emma Harper, Claudia Beamish, Rachael Hamilton, Jenny Marra, Neil Bibby, Shona Robison, Mike Rumbles, Daniel Johnson, Colin Beattie, Donald Cameron, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Angela Constance, Miles Briggs, Kezia Dugdale, Gordon Lindhurst, Gordon MacDonald, Alexander Stewart, Jamie Greene, Tavish Scott, Alex Neil, James Dornan, Rona Mackay, Monica Lennon, Mark McDonald, Edward Mountain

Current Status: Taken in the Chamber on 01/05/2019
This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.