Prof Alan Alexander announced as new Chair of Audit Scotland


Prof Alan Alexander is to be appointed as the new Chair of Audit Scotland, it has been announced. He will take up the position with effect from 1 April 2020.


The appointment comes at a time of significant change to the membership of Audit Scotland.

In 2020, the current Chair Ian Leitch will demit office on 31 March. The Auditor General for Scotland, Caroline Gardner completes her eight-year term of office on 30 June 2020, and Heather Logan, non-executive member, finishes her position on 30 September 2020.

Prof Alexander, a non-executive member of Audit Scotland since 2018, will provide continuity to the organisation through the period of change in its membership.

Prof Alexander was confirmed as the new chair following an interview by the Scottish Commission for Public Audit (SCPA) on 21 November 2019.

The SCPA will shortly start a recruitment exercise for two new non-executive members for Audit Scotland. One member will start on 1 April and the other on 1 October 2020.

A separate recruitment exercise for a new Auditor General for Scotland is to be undertaken by the Scottish Parliament in 2020.

Biographical information - Prof Alan Alexander

Prof Alexander was appointed by the SCPA as a non-executive member of Audit Scotland on 4 October 2018 for an initial term of 3 years and is eligible for reappointment for a further 3 years.

Prof Alexander has substantial non-executive experience having held a large number of public appointments including being a member of the Accounts Commission; a Trustee of the David Hume Institute, and Chair of Scottish Water, Waterwise and the Outward Bound Scottish Council.


The Chair works 32 days per annum and the daily rate is £410.94.

Background information on Audit Scotland

Audit Scotland is a body corporate established under the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000.

Audit Scotland consists of:

• The Auditor General for Scotland;
• The Chair of the Accounts Commission; and
• 3 other members appointed by the SCPA.

The current members of Audit Scotland are:

• Caroline Gardner, Auditor General for Scotland;
• Dr Graham Sharp, Chair of the Accounts Commission;
• Ian Leitch, non-executive chair;
• Heather Logan, non-executive member; and
• Prof Alan Alexander, non-executive member.
Under the provisions of the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000, members of Audit Scotland who are appointed by the SCPA are appointed for a period not exceeding 3 years and may be re-appointment for a single further term subject to satisfactory performance and the SCPA considering them suitable for reappointment.

Find more about Audit Scotland here. (links to external website)



Contact information

Media contact information

Public information

  • Telephone enquiry line: 0800 092 7500 or 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)
  • [email protected]
  • Text 07786 209 888
  • Ask a question online through live chat
  • We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service or in British Sign Language through contactSCOTLAND-BSL

Keep up to date with us on:

keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament on Facebook Follow the Scottish Parliament on Twitter @ScotParl keep up to date with what's 
happening in Parliament on YouTube

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.