School pupils to descend on the Scottish Parliament for Euroquiz final


Can you tell the difference between the Netherlands and Luxembourg flags? Do you know how many officially recognised languages are spoken in Europe?

These are just some examples of the challenging questions that will face primary six children from all over Scotland competing in the Euroquiz final in the Scottish Parliament’s Debating Chamber on Monday 13 May.

Euroquiz, which was first held in 1993, sees teams of pupils working together to broaden their knowledge of European history, geography, sport, culture, languages and the European Union.

Only the best of the best remain as 32 schools have debated their way through a series of heats to represent their local authority areas in the Euroquiz final at Holyrood.

Deputy Presiding Officer and Euroquiz quizmaster Christine Grahame MSP said:

“Euroquiz is a highlight in the Scottish Parliament calendar.  This is my third year as quizmaster and every year I am amazed and sometimes a little embarrassed at the level of knowledge our talented young people have about our European neighbours.

 “I’m sure the pupils from all across Scotland have been studying very hard for this final and will be determined to take home the trophy.

“The Euroquiz heats involved more than 2,000 pupils and over 470 schools so it’s great to see the enthusiasm for this competition and I congratulate each and every one of them for reaching the final.”

There will be a live webcast of the event accessible via the Scottish Parliament’s website.


Euroquiz will take place from 1-3.30pm on Monday 13 May in the Debating Chamber.

The Scottish European Educational Trust has been running the quiz since 1993 and this will be the 11th time the finals have been held at The Scottish Parliament. The event is supported by the Scottish Government. 

The Scottish European Educational Trust (SEET) is a registered charity established in 1993 which aims to promote and encourage education about Europe to students at schools, colleges and universities throughout Scotland.

Photographs of the event will be available from the Scottish Parliament’s official photographer Andrew Cowan who can be contacted on 0131 348 5878 or by email at [email protected].

Members of the media who would like to attend the quiz can watch from the media gallery in the Parliament’s Debating Chamber. 

The 32 Scottish primary schools taking part in Euroquiz 2019 are:

Aberdeen City (Robert Gordon’s College)
Aberdeenshire (Mill o’Forest Primary School)
Angus (Maisondieu Primary School)
Argyll & Bute (Hermitage Primary School)
Clackmannanshire (Strathdevon Primary School)
Dumfries & Galloway (Troqueer Primary School)
Dundee (Forthill Primary School)
East Ayrshire (Annanhill Primary School)
East Dunbartonshire (Lenzie Meadow Primary School)
East Lothian (Gullane Primary School)
East Renfrewshire (Busby Primary School)
Edinburgh (James Gillespie’s Primary School)
Falkirk (Comely Park Primary School)
Fife (Duloch Primary School)
Glasgow (Kelvindale Primary School)
Highland (Cradlehall Primary School)
Inverclyde (Inverkip Primary School)
Midlothian (Mauricewood Primary School)
Moray (Hopeman Primary School)
North Ayrshire (West Kilbride Primary School)
North Lanarkshire (OLGA Cathedral Primary School)
Orkney Islands Council (Shapinsay Community School)
Perth and Kinross (Portmoak Primary School)
Renfrewshire (Houston Primary School)
Scottish Borders (Clovenfords Primary School)
Shetland (Aith Junior High)
South Ayrshire (Glenburn Primary School)
South Lanarkshire (St Leonard's Primary School)
Stirling (Strathblane Primary School)
West Dunbartonshire (St Mary’s Primary School)
West Lothian (Linlithgow Primary School)
Western Isles Comhairle nan Eilean Siar (Sgoil an Rubha)

Contact information

Media Information

Public information

  • Telephone enquiry line: 0800 092 7500 or 0131 348 5395 (Gàidhlig)
  • [email protected]
  • Text 07786 209 888
  • Ask a question online through live chat
  • We also welcome calls using the Text Relay service or in British Sign Language through contactSCOTLAND-BSL

Keep up to date with us on:

keep up to date with what's happening in Parliament on Facebook Follow the Scottish Parliament on Twitter @ScotParl keep up to date with what's 
happening in Parliament on YouTube

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.