Chronic Pain

Purpose of the group

The aim of the Group is to raise awareness of how those with chronic pain are treated and to work for earlier and better care. 

The Group aims to raise awareness of the condition amongst parliamentarians, to influence legislation and policy makers in order to improve the lives of people affected. 

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting: 05 October 2020

This meeting will be held virtually at 6pm and will include the AGM. Anyone wishing to attend must contact Dorothy-Grace Elder, [email protected], in advance of the meeting.


Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Dorothy Grace Elder - secretary

Prof Martyn Steultjens

John Thomson

Anne Murray

Lord George Foulkes

Dr Colin Rae

Margaret McInnes

Councillor Frank McAveety

Karen Neil

Claire Daisley

Elaine Holmes,

Olive McIlroy

Nancy Honeyball

Rob Friel

Robert Dickson

Frances Boyle

A Floyd,

Katharine Kilgour

Fiona Collins

David Caulfield

Rob McDowall.

George Welsh

Catherine Hughes

Ooi Thye Chong

Prof Jim McEwen

Bailie Josephine Docherty

Maire Whitehead

Dr David Weeks

Bill Sinclair

Claire Schiavone

Laura Clark

Maureen McAllister

Anne Hughes

Margaret Coats

Tasneem Nadeem

Mohammed Nadeem

Akhtar Javaid

Lara Grant

Margaret Searle

Lyssa Clayton

Helen Campbell

Ian Brogan

Anne Simpson

Margaret Wyllie

Karen Hooton

Dr Sheila Inglis

Jim Eadie

Marion Scott

Irenee O’Neill

John Mutch

Kathleen Powderly

Marian Kenny

Dr Patrick Trust

Dr Andreas Kelch,

Nicola Mills

Alan Watt

Linda Mawson

Frank Mawson

Pete McCarron

Lesley Riddoch

Michael Grieve

Jim Scanlon

Martha Heaney

Jean Rafferty

Anne Cassels

Christine Martin

Jacquie Forde

Irene Logan

Arlene Byrne

Linda Tierney

Fiona Robinson

Geraldine McGuigan

Janice Connelly

John Lawrence

Prof Blair Smith

Dr Martin Johnson

Dr Helen Jackson

Dr Michael Basler

Dr Mike Serpell

Dr Sabu James

Liz Barrie

Gordon Barrie

Anne Hughes

Dr Pat Roche

Alasdair Barron

Heather Cameron

Paulo Quadros

Kenny Boyle

Phil Atkinson

Helen McCluskey

Lloyd Mawson


The Health & Social Care Alliance Scotland

Action on Pain UK

Chartered Society of Physiotherapy Scotland

Royal College of Physicians & Surgeons of Glasgow

Scottish Mesh Survivors campaign

Community Pharmacy Scotland

Complementary & Natural Healthcare Council UK

Fibromyalagia Friends Scotland

FFU-Scotland (Fibromyalgia)


Independent Federation of Nurses in Scotland

“Affa Sair” Moray campaign group

Versus Arthritis, Scotland & UK

Cope Scotland



Healthcare Improvement Scotland

Leuchie House chronic conditions respite centre

National Osteoporosis Society

NHS Ayrshire & Arran


NHS Highland

NHS Lothian

NHS Tayside

NHS Lanarkshire

Pain Association Scotland

Royal College of General Practitioners

Royal Pharmaceutical Society

Scottish Massage Therapists Association


Scottish Neurological Society

Marfan Association

ASH Scotland

Femme Fatigue,

Glasgow Caledonian University

Equality Council

Get involved

Next meeting:
05 October 2020


[email protected]



Elaine Smith MSP

Scottish Parliament
Holyrood Road
EH99 1SP

0131 348 5824


Cross Party Groups and GDPR

Please note that some Cross-Party Groups have external organisations that provide secretariat support to the Group. These organisations manage your information in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements. The links to the privacy policies, of the organisations that have provided them to the Scottish Parliament are available on our website.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.