Purpose of the group

The Cross-Party Group on China seeks to promote relations between Scotland and China, not only in recognition of the crucial importance of China as an economic power, but also of the role of China as a cultural force. The Group seeks to work with organisations and authorities to increase cultural, educational and economic exchange between the two countries, to develop a dialogue with the Chinese Consulate in Edinburgh, and to engage with the Chinese community in Scotland. 

Forthcoming meetings

Next meeting:



Annual Return/Report

Group Officers

Group Members

Non MSP Individuals

Daniel Cairns – Office of Mary Fee MSP - secretary

Siyi Chen - secretary

James Anderson

Nigel Archdale

Alex Avramenko

Eric Balish

Ian Baxter

Martin Bell

Anouck Berthier

Robert Brennan

James Brodie

Helena Brown

Susan Brown

Michael Burns

Sharon Cheng

Roger Collins

Carole Couper

Matt Cross

Robert Dalzell

Jane Davidson

Jim Dixon

Feyrouz Djabali

Gari Don

Jane Duckett

Carolyn Dunion

Tariq Durrani

Barbara Fennell-Clark

Sheila Forbes

Helen Ford

Yuwen Fortune

Linda Fu

Natascha Gentz

Yu Gonghua

Ian Gow

Katy Gow

Cathy Gu

Jessica Guo

Michael Xin Guo

Alistair Hamilton

Megan Hammell

Ross Haston

Matthew Heap

Nigel Hedley

Caroline Henderson

Jocelyn Heron

Edmund Hoffie

Loki Holbourn

Zhang Hong

Isabel Hui Lui

Isabella Jackson

Meryl James

Richard Jin (Jin Ri)

Owen Kelly

Greg Kennedy

Savanna Kenny

Jamie Kerr

Alick Kitchin

Marcus Kneen

Peter Kwok

Christopher Land

Xiang Li

Fan Lin

Wei Lin

Orchid Liu

Catriona Llanwarne

Elaine Logan

Lindesay Low

Martin Low

Aofei Lu

Linus Liu

Mike Lynch

Ping Ma

Simon Macaulay

Catriona MacDonald

Eoghann MacColl

Donald MacDonald

Andrew Mackie

Helen Mackie

Nick Mackie

Fiona Maclean

James MacMillan

Farai Magodo

Clare Maitland

Henry Maitles

Judith McClure

Jim McColm

Susie McCosh

Archie McGlynn

Petra MClay

John McKenzie

Judith McKerrecher

Shaun McPhee

Colin Mitchell

Rosemary Mitchell

Leigh Morris

Tim Musson

Kam Leung Ng (Tommy)

Wing-Sie Ng

Wing-Yan Ng

Ruairidh Nicolson

Gordon Ogilvie

Margie Ogilvie-Stuart

Patrick O’Kane

Fiona Pate

Siobhan Paterson

Graeme Pearson

Adam Purvis

Shilong Quo

Douglas Rae

Jim Reid

Lindsay Rinning

Andrew Ritchie

Ken Robinson

Alan Salonika

Ellie Sandercock

Jim Scott

Rachael Scott

John Somers

Marion Sporing

Sean Sproull

Jim Reid

Alicia Tawil

Dorothy Thomas

Ed Thomson

Graham Thompson

James Trolland

Edward Tsang

Iain Valentine

Ziying Wang

Oliver Wessely

Karin Wilson

Jonathan Wilson

Andrew Welsh

Nathan Woolley

Alan Wright

Jean J. Ye

Deborah Yeo

Lucy Young

Angus Gonghua Yu

Ping Zhang

Dr Hong Zhang

Kiren Zubairi


Lasswade High School - secretary

Angus Council

Apple Green Homes

Armadale Academy

Asia Scotland Institute

Baillie Gifford

Barclays Corporate

Blackford Trust

British Council Scotland

Burness Paull LLP

China Britain Business Council Scotland

Clyde Blowers Capital

Confucius Institute for Scotland at the University of Edinburgh

Confucius Institute at the University of Glasgow

Confucius Institute for Scotland’s Schools at the University of Strathclyde

Confucius Institute at the University of Aberdeen

Confucius Institute at Heriot-Watt University

Department of Asian Studies at the University of Edinburgh

Dumfries and Galloway College

East Ayrshire Council

Edinburgh Academy

Edinburgh College

Education Scotland

G7 Consultants Ltd

Glasgow Caledonian University

Great Wall Consultancy

Heriot-Watt University

Howden Group

Liberton High School

Loretto School

Lothian and Borders Police

MacLean Commercial Consultancy

North Lanarkshire Council

Positive Solutions (Glasgow)

Repsol Neuvas Energias UK Limited

Ricefields Arts Centre

Ridrum International

Royal Botanic Gardens Edinburgh

Royal Zoological Society of Scotland

Scotland China Education Network (SCEN)

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Centre for Chinese Social Science Research at the University of Glasgow

Scotland’s Rural College (SRUC)

Scottish Chinese Professionals (SCP)

Scottish Development International

Scottish Financial Enterprise

St George’s School Edinburgh

Scotch Whisky Association

Strathclyde University

The Inveralmond Brewery Limited

The UK Federation of Chinese Professionals (FCP) & Young Chinese Professionals Scotland (YCP) 

The University of Abertay Dundee

The University of Edinburgh

The University of Glasgow

The University of the West of Scotland

Thorntons Law LLP

The Power of Youth

Get involved

Next meeting:


[email protected]



Mary Fee MSP

0131 348 6391

Dean Lockhart MSP

0313 348 5993

The Scottish Parliament
EH99 1SP


Cross Party Groups and GDPR

Please note that some Cross-Party Groups have external organisations that provide secretariat support to the Group. These organisations manage your information in compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requirements. The links to the privacy policies, of the organisations that have proved them to the Scottish Parliament are available on our website.

This website is using cookies.
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.