Election 2021

The Scottish Parliament is in recess ahead of the election on 6 May.

Because of Covid-19, there are some changes to how the Parliament prepares for the election.

Find out more in our Election 2021 pages

Skip to main content

Language: English / GĂ idhlig


About the Scottish Parliament

Who's who in the Scottish Parliament

What's the difference between the First Minister and the Presiding Officer? What are the SPCB and the Bureau? Find out about the people and groups involved in the Parliament and what they do.


Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body (SPCB)

The SPCB makes sure that the Parliament has everything it needs to run and provides support to MSPs to enable them to carry out their parliamentary duties. This includes property, services and staff.

It makes decisions on:

  • budgets
  • staffing
  • accommodation
  • security

It is chaired by the Presiding Officer and includes 5 elected members. Each of the elected members takes a lead interest in specific issues.

David Stewart MSP leads on facilities.  This includes:

  • facilities management
  • events and exhibitions
  • visitor services
  • business information technology

Liam McArthur MSP leads on resources. This includes:

  • finance
  • Members’ Expenses Scheme
  • human resources

Andy Wightman MSP leads on business and security.  This includes:

  • security
  • committee and chamber
  • the Official Report
  • outreach services and SPICe

Sandra White MSP leads on engagement.  This includes:

  • international relations
  • information management
  • public information
  • media relations
  • web and social media
  • the Committee Engagement Unit

Jackson Carlaw MSP leads on governance. This includes:

  • the Officeholders
  • legal services
  • internal audit
  • business continuity
  • procurement

SPCB minutes and papers