



#### SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

# MSPs not standing or not returned in the 2021 election

This Fact Sheet provides a list of the MSPs who have not returned to the Scottish Parliament following the election on 6 May 2021. They either did not stand as a candidate for re-election, or they stood but were not re-elected.

Published on 19 March 2024 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



Party	Abbreviation
Reform UK	Reform
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA

### Session 5 MSPs who stood for re-election in 2021 but failed to win a seat

Note: The party and constituency (C) or region (R) listed are the party and constituency/region which they stood for in the 2021 election. This may differ to the party or constituency/region they represented during Session 5.

Claudia Beamish (Lab) South Scotland (R)

Michelle Ballantyne (Reform) South Scotland (R)

Maurice Corry (Con) West Scotland (R)

James Kelly (Lab) Glasgow (R)

Gordon Lindhurst (Con) Lothian (R)

Joan McAlpine (SNP) South Scotland (R)

John Scott (Con) Ayr (C)

Paul Wheelhouse (SNP) South Scotland (R)

Andy Wightman (Ind) Highlands and Islands (R)

## MSPs who were serving at the end of Parliamentary Session 5 but chose not to stand for re-election in 2021

Bill Bowman (Con) North East Scotland (R)

Aileen Campbell (SNP)

Clydesdale (C)

Peter Chapman (Con) North East Scotland (R)

Bruce Crawford (SNP) Stirling (C)

**Roseanna Cunningham (SNP)** Perthshire South and Kinross-shire (C)

Ruth Davidson (Con) Edinburgh Central (C)

Linda Fabiani (SNP) East Kilbride (C)

Mary Fee (Lab) West Scotland (R)

Neil Findlay (Lab) Lothian (R)

John Finnie (Green) Highlands and Islands (R)

Jeane Freeman (SNP) Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (C)

lain Gray (Lab) East Lothian (C)

Alison Harris (Con) Central Scotland (R)

Johann Lamont (Lab) Glasgow (R)

Richard Lyle (SNP) Uddingston and Bellshill (C)

Angus MacDonald (SNP) Falkirk East (C)

Lewis Macdonald (Lab) North East Scotland (R)

Ken Macintosh (NPA) West Scotland (R)

**Derek Mackay (Ind)** Renfrewshire North and West (C)

Jenny Marra (Lab) North East Scotland (R) Tom Mason (Con) North East Scotland (R)

Mark McDonald (Ind) Aberdeen Donside (C)

Margaret Mitchell (Con) Central Scotland (R)

Alex Neil (SNP) Airdrie and Shotts (C)

**Gil Paterson (SNP)** Clydebank and Milngavie (C)

Gail Ross (SNP) Caithness, Sutherland and Ross (C)

Mike Rumbles (LD) North East Scotland (R)

Michael Russell (SNP) Argyll and Bute (C)

Elaine Smith (Lab) Central Scotland (R)

Stewart Stevenson (SNP) Banffshire and Buchan Coast (C)

David Stewart (Lab) Highlands and Islands (R)

Adam Tomkins (Con) Glasgow (R)

Maureen Watt (SNP) Aberdeen South and North Kincardine (C)

Sandra White (SNP) Glasgow Kelvin (C)

#### **About SPICe**

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at <u>www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-</u> <u>committees/research-prepared-for-parliament</u>

Follow <u>SPICe on Twitter</u> to keep up to date with our work and new publications.