



SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

Current Ministers and Law Officers

The Scottish Government is made up of Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers, who are MSPs chosen by the First Minister. It also includes 2 Law Officers (the Lord Advocate and the Solicitor General for Scotland) who do not need to be MSPs.

This Fact Sheet lists all current Scottish Ministers and Law Officers

Published on 27 March 2025 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



Party	Abbreviation
Alba Party	Alba
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA
King's Counsel	KC

Ministers

First Minister

John Swinney (SNP)

Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Gaelic

Kate Forbes (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government

Shona Robison (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care

Neil Gray (SNP) (Includes temporary responsibility for Alcohol Policy matters from 20 August 2024, to cover the portfolio of the Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy).

Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills

Jenny Gilruth (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy

Mairi McAllan (SNP) (On maternity leave from 27 June 2024. Post is being covered by Gillian Martin)

Acting Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy

Gillian Martin (SNP) (from 27 June 2024) (Gillian Martin was appointed Acting Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy to cover Mairi McAllan's maternity leave)

Cabinet Secretary for Transport

Fiona Hyslop (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs, Land Reform and Islands

Mairi Gougeon (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Constitution, External Affairs and Culture

Angus Robertson (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice Shirley-Anne Somerville (SNP)

Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Home Affairs

Angela Constance (SNP)

Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy

This portfolio if currently being covered by Neil Grey Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care and Jenni Minto Minister for Public Health and Women's Health

Minister for Parliamentary Business Jamie Hepburn (SNP)

Minister for Public Finance Ivan McKee (SNP)

Minister for Employment and Investment

Tom Arthur (SNP)

Minister for Public Health and Women's Health

Jenni Minto (SNP) (Includes temporary responsibility for Alcohol Policy matters from 20 August 2024, to cover the portfolio of the Minister for Drugs and Alcohol Policy).

Minister for Social Care, Mental Wellbeing and Sport Maree Todd (SNP)

Minister for Children, Young People and The Promise

Natalie Don-Innes (SNP)

Name changed from Natalie Don to Natalie Don-Innes on 22 August 2024

Minister for Higher and Further Education and Minister for Veterans Graeme Dey (SNP)

Minister for Agriculture and Connectivity Jim Fairlie (SNP)

Minister for Equalities Kaukab Stewart (SNP)

Minister for Business Richard Lochhead (SNP)

Acting Minister for Climate Action

Alasdair Allan (SNP) (from 27 June 2024) (Alasdair Allan was appointed Acting Minister for Climate Action to cover for Gillian Martin who in Acting Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero and Energy)

Minister for Housing

Paul McLennan (SNP)

Minister for Victims and Community Safety Siobhian Brown (SNP)

Law Officers

Lord Advocate Rt Hon Dorothy Bain KC

Solicitor General for Scotland Ruth Charteris KC

About SPICe

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at <u>www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-</u> <u>committees/research-prepared-for-parliament</u>

Follow <u>SPICe on Twitter</u> to keep up to date with our work and new publications.