



SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

Current male MSPs

This Fact Sheet lists all current male Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs), with a note of the constituency (C) or region (R) that they represent.

MSPs are listed by party in alphabetical order and then alphabetically by surname. The table at the end of the document provides a summary of the number of current male MSPs.

Published on 7 April 2025 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



Party	Abbreviation
Alba Party	Alba
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Jeremy Balfour

Lothian (R)

Miles Briggs

Lothian (R)

Alexander Burnett

Aberdeenshire West (C)

Jackson Carlaw

Eastwood (C)

Finlay Carson

Galloway and West Dumfries (C)

Tim Eagle

Highlands and Islands (R)

Russell Findlay

West Scotland (R)

Murdo Fraser

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Maurice Golden

North East Scotland (R)

Sandesh Gulhane

Glasgow (R)

Jamie Halcro Johnston

Highlands and Islands (R)

Craig Hoy

South Scotland (R)

Liam Kerr

North East Scotland (R)

Stephen Kerr

Central Scotland (R)

Douglas Lumsden

North East Scotland (R)

Edward Mountain

Highlands and Islands (R)

Oliver Mundell

Dumfriesshire (C)

Douglas Ross

Highlands and Islands (R)

Graham Simpson

Central Scotland (R)

Alexander Stewart

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Brian Whittle

South Scotland (R)

Scottish Green Party

Ross Greer

West Scotland (R)

Patrick Harvie

Glasgow (R)

Mark Ruskell

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Scottish Labour Party

Neil Bibby

West Scotland (R)

Foysol Choudhury

Lothian (R)

Mark Griffin

Central Scotland (R)

Daniel Johnson

Edinburgh Southern (C)

Richard Leonard

Central Scotland (R)

Michael Marra

North East Scotland (R)

Paul O'Kane

West Scotland (R)

Alex Rowley

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Anas Sarwar

Glasgow (R)

Colin Smyth

South Scotland (R)

Paul Sweeney

Glasgow (R)

Martin Whitfield

South Scotland (R)

Scottish Liberal Democrats

Alex Cole-Hamilton

Edinburgh Western (C)

Jamie Greene

West Scotland (R)

Liam McArthur

Orkney Islands (C)

Willie Rennie

North East Fife (C)

Scottish National Party

George Adam

Paisley (C)

Alasdair Allan

Na h-Eileanan an Iar (C)

Tom Arthur

Renfrewshire South (C)

Colin Beattie

Midlothian North and Musselburgh (C)

Keith Brown

Clackmannanshire and Dunblane (C)

Willie Coffey

Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley (C)

Graeme Dey

Angus South (C)

James Dornan

Glasgow Cathcart (C)

Bob Doris

Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn (C)

Fergus Ewing

Inverness and Nairn (C)

Jim Fairlie

Perthshire South and Kinross-shire (C)

Joe FitzPatrick

Dundee City West (C)

Kenneth Gibson

Cunninghame North (C)

Neil Gray

Airdrie and Shotts (C)

Jamie Hepburn

Cumbernauld and Kilsyth (C)

Bill Kidd

Glasgow Anniesland (C)

Richard Lochhead

Moray (C)

Gordon MacDonald

Edinburgh Pentlands (C)

Fulton MacGregor

Coatbridge and Chryston (C)

Ben Macpherson

Edinburgh Northern and Leith (C)

Michael Matheson

Falkirk West (C)

Ivan McKee

Glasgow Provan (C)

Paul McLennan

East Lothian (C)

Stuart McMillan

Greenock and Inverclyde (C)

Angus Robertson

Edinburgh Central (C)

Kevin Stewart

Aberdeen Central (C)

John Swinney

Perthshire North (C)

David Torrance

Kirkcaldy (C)

Humza Yousaf

Glasgow Pollok (C)

Independent

John Mason

Glasgow Shettleston (C)

Number of current male MSPs

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	4	17	21
Scottish Green Party	0	4	4
Scottish Labour	1	11	12
Scottish Liberal Democrats	3	0	3
Scottish National Party	29	0	29
Independent	1	0	1
No Party Affiliation	0	0	0
Total	38	32	70

About SPICe

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-committees/research-prepared-for-parliament

Follow SPICe on Twitter to keep up to date with our work and new publications.