



# SPICe Fact Sheet Duilleagan Fiosrachaidh SPICe

## **Cumulative list of female MSPs: Session 6**

This Fact Sheet provides a list of all female Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) from the beginning of Session 6, with a note of the constituency (C) or region (R) that they represent.

MSPs are listed by party in alphabetical order and then alphabetically by surname. The tables at the end of the document provide a summary of the changes in membership that took place during Session 6.

Published on 27 March 2025 by the authority of the Scottish Parliament



Party	Abbreviation
Alba Party	Alba
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	Con
Scottish Green Party	Green
Scottish Labour	Lab
Scottish Liberal Democrats	LD
Scottish National Party	SNP
Independent MSPs	Ind
No Party Affiliation	NPA

## **Alba Party**

#### **Ash Regan**

Edinburgh Eastern (C)

Elected as a member of the Scottish National Party, Ash Regan resigned from the SNP on 28 October 2023 and joined the Alba Party

## **Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party**

#### **Sharon Dowe**

South Scotland (R)

#### Meghan Gallacher

Central Scotland (R)

#### **Pam Gosal**

West Scotland (R)

#### **Rachael Hamilton**

Ettrick, Lauderdale and Berwickshire (C)

#### Roz McCall

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Roz McCall became regional member for Mid Scotland and Fife on 6 September 2022. She replaced Dean Lockhart.

#### **Liz Smith**

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

#### **Sue Webber**

Lothian (R)

#### **Annie Wells**

Glasgow (R)

#### **Tess White**

North East Scotland (R)

## **Scottish Green Party**

#### **Ariane Burgess**

Highlands and Islands (R)

## **Maggie Chapman**

North East Scotland (R)

## **Gillian Mackay**

Central Scotland (R)

#### **Lorna Slater**

Lothian (R)

#### **Scottish Labour**

#### Jackie Baillie

Dumbarton (C)

#### **Claire Baker**

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

#### Sarah Boyack

Lothian (R)

#### **Katy Clark**

West Scotland (R)

#### Pam Duncan-Glancy

Glasgow (R)

#### **Rhoda Grant**

Highlands and Islands (R)

#### **Monica Lennon**

Central Scotland (R)

#### **Pauline McNeill**

Glasgow (R)

#### **Carol Mochan**

South Scotland (R)

#### **Mercedes Villalba**

North East Scotland (R)

#### **Scottish Liberal Democrats**

#### **Beatrice Wishart**

Shetland Islands (C)

## **Scottish National Party**

#### Karen Adam

Banffshire and Buchan Coast (C)

#### **Clare Adamson**

Motherwell and Wishaw (C)

#### **Siobhian Brown**

Ayr (C)

## **Stephanie Callaghan**

Uddingston and Bellshill (C)

#### **Angela Constance**

Almond Valley (C)

#### **Natalie Don-Innes**

Renfrewshire North and West (C)

Name changed from Natalie Don to Natalie Don-Innes on 22 August 2024.

#### **Jackie Dunbar**

Aberdeen Donside (C)

#### **Annabelle Ewing**

Cowdenbeath (C)

#### **Kate Forbes**

Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch (C)

#### **Jenny Gilruth**

Mid Fife and Glenrothes (C)

#### Mairi Gougeon

Angus North and Mearns (C)

#### **Christine Grahame**

Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale (C)

## **Emma Harper**

South Scotland (R)

#### **Clare Haughey**

Rutherglen (C)

#### **Fiona Hyslop**

Linlithgow (C)

#### **Rona Mackay**

Strathkelvin and Bearsden (C)

#### **Ruth Maguire**

Cumulative list of female MSPs: Session 6

#### Cunninghame South (C)

#### **Gillian Martin**

Aberdeenshire East (C)

#### Màiri McAllan

Clydesdale (C)

#### **Christina McKelvie**

Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse (C)

Christina McKelvie died on 27 March 2025.

#### Marie McNair

Clydebank and Milngavie (C)

#### **Jenni Minto**

Argyll and Bute (C)

#### **Audrey Nicoll**

Aberdeen South and North Kincardine (C)

#### **Shona Robison**

Dundee City East (C)

#### **Emma Roddick**

Highlands and Islands (R)

## **Shirley-Anne Somerville**

Dunfermline (C)

#### **Collette Stevenson**

East Kilbride (C)

#### **Kaukab Stewart**

Glasgow Kelvin (C)

#### Nicola Sturgeon

Glasgow Southside (C)

#### **Michelle Thomson**

Falkirk East (C)

#### **Maree Todd**

Caithness, Sutherland and Ross (C)

#### **Evelyn Tweed**

Stirling (C)

#### **Elena Whitham**

Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (C)

## **No Party Affiliation**

Alison Johnstone Lothian (R)

Elected as a member of the Scottish Green Party, Alison Johnstone took voluntary suspension from the Scottish Green Party following her election to the post of Presiding Officer on 13 May 2021.

## **Changes in membership during Session 6**

Table 1: Total number of female MSPs following the election on 6 May 2021

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	1	7	8
Scottish Green Party	0	5	5
Scottish Labour	1	9	10
Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	0	1
Scottish National Party	32	2	34
Total	35	23	58

Table 2: Total number of female MSPs following the election of the Presiding Officer on 13 May 2021

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	1	7	8
Scottish Green Party	0	4	4
Scottish Labour	1	9	10
Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	0	1
Scottish National Party	32	2	34
No Party Affiliation	0	1	1
Total	35	23	58

Table 3: Total number of female MSPs following the appointment of Roz McCall as an MSP on 6 Sept 2022

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	1	8	9
Scottish Green Party	0	4	4
Scottish Labour	1	9	10
Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	0	1
Scottish National Party	32	2	34
No Party Affiliation	0	1	1
Total	35	24	59

Table 4: Total number of female MSPs on 28 October 2023 following Ash Regan's resignation from the SNP and move to the Alba Party

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Alba Party	1	0	1
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	1	8	9
Scottish Green Party	0	4	4
Scottish Labour	1	9	10
Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	0	1
Scottish National Party	31	2	33
No Party Affiliation	0	1	1
Total	35	24	59

Table 5: Total number of female MSPs on 27 March 2025 following the death of Christina McKelvie

Party	Constituency	Regional	Total
Alba Party	1	0	1
Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	1	8	9
Scottish Green Party	0	4	4
Scottish Labour	1	9	10
Scottish Liberal Democrats	1	0	1
Scottish National Party	30	2	33
No Party Affiliation	0	1	1
Total	34	24	58

#### About SPICe

The **Scottish Parliament Information Centre (SPICe)** provides impartial, factual, accurate and timely information and analysis for the Parliament.

For more information please visit our website at <a href="https://www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-committees/research-prepared-for-parliament">www.parliament.scot/chamber-and-committees/research-prepared-for-parliament</a>

Follow SPICe on Twitter to keep up to date with our work and new publications.