Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on USA

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

Friday 25th June 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Wednesday 8th June 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

Friday 1st July 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

Friday 25th June 2021

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Meeting: 25th June 2021

Attendance: 2 MSPs, 5 Non-MSP

Initial Meeting – Election of office bearers and further discussion surrounding plans for the Group going forward.

Meeting: 6th October 2021

Attendance: 6 MSPs, 31Non-MSP

Speakers: Jack Hillmeyer, Consul-General, U.S. Department of State in Edinburgh and

Michael Feldman, Political/Economic Officer, U.S. Consulate General Edinburgh

John Primrose, Deputy Director, Scottish Government

David Reay, Chair in Carbon Management & Education, School of Geosciences, Edinburgh University

Stuart Hamilton, Business Development, Business Support, Scottish Chambers of Commerce

Allan Hogarth, Executive Director, Scottish North America Business Council

Ian Houston, President US, Scottish Business Network Followed by open discussion.

Meeting: 23rd February 2022

Attendance: 5 MSPs, 35 Non-MSP

Speakers: Jack Hillmeyer, Consul-General, U.S. Department of State in Edinburgh and

Michael Feldman, Political/Economic Officer, U.S. Consulate General Edinburgh

Ian Houston, President US, Scottish Business Network

Stuart Hamilton, Business Development, Business Support, Scottish Chambers of Commerce

Professor Frank Cogliano, International Dean North America, University of Edinburgh

Professor Brad Mackay, VP International, St Andrews University Rob Lang, Head of Marketing, Edinburgh Airport

Steve Kerr, Department for International Trade Scotland

Rachel Gwyon, Director for Scotland and Agriculture, Food and Drink,

Department for International Trade

Followed by open discussion.

Meeting: 8th June 2022

Attendance: 8 MSPs, 45 Non-MSPs

Speakers: Michael Feldman, Political/Economic Officer, U.S. Consulate General Edinburgh Scott Douglas, Communications, Department for International Trade Hina Khan, Project Coordinator, Spire Global Sadie McKinlay, Head of Development, Edinburgh International Festival Martin Bell, Deputy Director of Trade, Scotch Whisky Association Followed by open discussion and AGM items. Re-election of office bearers.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Dean Lockhart MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Daniel Johnson MSP (Scottish Labour)

Emma Harper MSP (Scottish National Party)

Alexander Burnett MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Rachael Hamilton MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Liam Kerr MSP (Scottish Conservatives and Unionist Party)

Michelle Thomson MSP (Scottish National Party)

Monica Lennon MSP (Scottish Labour)

Murdo Fraser MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Pam Gosal MSP (Scottish Conservatives and Unionist Party)

Paul McLennan MSP (Scottish National Party)

Paul Sweeney MSP (Scottish Labour)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Alan Salonika
-------------	---------------

	Ulrike Peter
	Llinos Jones
	Lesley-Anne Campbell
	Julia McIntyre
	Thomas Heald
	William Stirling
Organisations	Edinburgh Chambers of Commerce - Secretariat
	Food and Drink Federation Scotland
	The Royal Society of Edinburgh
	Universities Scotland
	Weber Shandwick

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

ConvenerDean Lockhart MSPDeputy
ConvenerDaniel Johnson MSPSecretaryEdinburgh Chambers of CommerceTreasurerNA

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500).

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

No subscription fee is charged.

Convener Contact Details	
Name	Dean Lockhart MSP
Parliamentary address	Room M2.13, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh, EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 5993