Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Towns and Town Centres

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

Monday 20th September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Wednesday 7th September 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

13th September 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

Monday 20th September 2021

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Monday 20th September 2021

Attendance: 9 MSPs, 3 non-MSPs

Topic discussed: Initial meeting, election of office bearers

Wednesday 8th December 2021 Attendance: 6 MSPs, 84 Non-MSPs Topic Discussed: Culture and Place

Invited Speaker: Karen Dick, Creative Scotland; Robert Livingston,

Regional Screen Scotland; David Paton, Montrose Playhouse

Partnership

Wednesday 9th March 2022

Attendance: 4 MSPs, 72 Non-MSPs

Topic Discussed: Community Wealth Building and Towns

Invited Speaker: Neil McInroy, Scottish Government; Emma Fyvie, Clackmannanshire Council, Mhairi Paterson, North Ayrshire Council

Wednesday 8th June 2022

Attendance: 6 MSPs, 103 Non-MSPs Topic Discussed: Towns Beyond Retail

Invited Speaker: Mhairi Donaghy, Scottish Futures Trust; Andrew Meehan, Rettie & Co; Ken Ford, Beyond Retail Property Fund

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Neil Bibby MSP (Labour)

Claire Baker MSP (Labour)

Siobhian Brown MSP (SNP)

Stephanie Callaghan MSP (SNP)

Katy Clarke MSP (Labour)

Willie Coffey MSP (SNP)

Sharon Dowey MSP (Conservative)

Meghan Gallacher MSP (Conservative)

Fiona Hyslop MSP (SNP)

Douglas Lumsden MSP (Conservative)

Gillian Martin MSP (SNP)

Paul McLelland MSP (SNP)

Marie McNair MSP (SNP)

Alex Rowley MSP (Labour)

Evelyn Tweed MSP (SNP)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	
Organisations	Scotland's Towns Partnership - secretary Architecture + Design Scotland ABB Scotland Aberdeenshire Council Alliance Boots Alloa Town Centre BID Angus Council Argyll and Bute Council Association of Town and City Management Barrhead BID Big Lottery Fund Boston Networks BT Built Environment Forum Scotland Business in the Community Scotland Can Do Places Carnegie UK Trust Charity Retail Association City of Edinburgh Council CityFibre CGI Colliers International Cupar and North Fife Tourism Association Cupar Development Trust Currie Brown Cycling Scotland Cycling UK Development Trusts Association Scotland

Dods

Dundee City Council

East Ayrshire Council

East Dunbartonshire Council

East Kilbride Shopping Centre

East Lothian Council

East Renfrewshire Council

Economic Development Association Scotland

Falkirk Council

Falkirk Delivers

Federation of Master Builders

Fife Council

Fort William Town Team

FSB Scotland

Future Hawick

Fyne Futures

Glasgow City Council

Global Treasure App

Grampian Housing

Granton Improvement Society

Halliday Fraser Munro

Highland Council

Highlands and Islands Enterprise

Historic Environment Scotland

Institute of Retail Studies, University of Stirling

Interface

Intu Properties

Keep Scotland Beautiful

Kingsgate Shopping Centre

Ladbrokes Coral

Lanark Community Council

Langbank Community Council

Living Streets

Loop Connections

Lloyds TSB Foundation

Miconex

Melrose Living

Moffat and District Community

Motherwell Town Centre

Museums Galleries Scotland

Narture

Natural Power

Newmilns Regeneration Association

North Lanarkshire Council

Obesity Action Scotland

One Dalkeith

Pagoda Porter Novelli

Paisley First BID

Paths for All

People Scotland

Perth and Kinross Council

PJ Leggate

Planning Aid Scotland

Prestwick Community Council

Real Retail Solutions

Renfrewshire Council

Retailers Against Crime

RICS

RTPI

Scottish Canals

Scottish Licensed Trade Association

Scotland's Rural College

Scottish Borders Council

Scottish Business Resilience Centre

Scottish Chambers of Commerce

Scottish Empty Homes Partnership

Scottish Futures Trust

Scottish Grocers Federation

Scottish Power Energy Networks

Scottish Retail Consortium

Scottish Small Towns Group

South Avrshire Council

South Lanarkshire Council

Stirling BID

Stirling Council

Stranraer Conservation Area Regeneration Scheme

SURF

Sustrans Scotland

TACTRAN

The Democratic Society Scotland

The Retailer Group

Transform Scotland

USDAW

Vale of Leven Trust

VisitScotland

Voluntary Action Fund

Weber Shandwick West Lothian Council
William Hill WSP

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Siobhian Brown MSP (SNP)
Deputy Convener	Neil Bibby MSP (Labour) Meghan Gallacher MSP (Conservative)
Secretary	Alison Jones (Scotland's Towns Partnership)
Treasurer	Elaine Bone (Scotland's Towns Partnership)

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

Scotland's Towns Partnership Total value of support - £2,000

Breakdown: Secretary duties (Scotland's Towns executives) to the value of £2,000 for 10 days work for the managing all communications with office bearers, members, speakers, supporters; planning agendas and related arrangements; attendance and Minute taking and digital communications for four CPG meetings/activities, AGM and an Office Bearers meeting; and fulfilling Code of Conduct and Best Practice requirements.

Convener Contact Details		
Name	Siobhian Browns MSP (SNP)	
Parliamentary address	P:M4.16 – Scottish Parliament EH99 1SP	
Telephone number	0131 348 5089 01292 810 034	