Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Sustainable Transport

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

25th November 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

25th January 2023

Date Annual Return Submitted

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

This is our first AGM since the CPG re-formed under a new name and accorded recognition.

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

25th November 2021

6 MSPs and 31 non-MSP members

Initial meeting held to establish a new CPG in session 6. The new CPG's purpose, election of office bearers and proposed CPG members were discussed.

27th January 2022

6 MSPs and 45 non-MSP members

Guest speaker Heather Cowan from Transport Scotland presented on "the Scottish Government's traffic reduction target". Followed by a Q&A session.

24th February 2022

5 MSPs and 48 non-MSP members

Guest speaker Richard Riley from Element Energy consultancy presented on 'Traffic Demand Management'. Followed by a Q&A session.

29th March 2022

5 MSPs and 34 non-MSP members

Guest speaker Bruce Whyte from Glasgow Centre of Population Health presented on the 'Equalities Impact of Historic Traffic Growth'. Followed by a Q&A session.

24th May 2022

3 MSPs and 38 non-MSP members

Guest speaker Clare Linton from Urban Transport Group presented on 'Decarbonisation of freight and logisitics'. Followed by Q&A. Guest speaker Professor Iain Docherty form University of Stirling presented on the Scottish Government's 20% traffic reduction target. Followed by Q&A.

1st November 2022

"Targeting Traffic" report published - summarising the work and findings of the CPG 2022 meetings series, centred around the Scottish Government's commitment to reduce car mileage by 20% by 2030.

25th January 2023 - AGM

There were 4 MSPs in attendance and 5 non-MSP members. We discussed the completion of the annual return form, exploring CPG sponsorship going forward and re-elected office bearers.
MSP Members of The Group
Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.
Graham Simpson (Conservative), John Mason (SNP) Sarah Boyack (Labour), Mark Ruskell (Green), Liam Kerr (Conservative), Brian Whittle (Conservative).

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Patrick Miner
Organisations	Allan Rail, CalMac, Capital Rail Action Group, CoMoUK, Community Transport Association (CTA, CPT Scotland, Cycle Law Scotland, Cycling Scotland, Cycling UK in Scotland, Disability Equality Scotland, Edinburgh Bus User's group, Friends of the Earth Scotland, Friends of the Far North Line, GoBike, Grand Union Trains, Heritage Railway Association, Hitrans, Levenmouth Rail Campaign, Light Rail Transit Association, Light Rail UK Group, LNER, Midlothian & Disability Access Panel, Mobility & Access Committee for Scotland (MACS), Network Rail Scotland, Paths For All, Pedal on Parliament, Rail Action Group (East Scotland), Railfuture, Ramblers Scotland, RNIB Scotland, Scottish Association for Public Transport, Spokes, St Andrew's Rail Campaign, Stagecoach, Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT), Sustrans Scotland, Transport Focus, Transform Scotland, Women's Cycle Forum Scotland.

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Graham Simpson MSP
----------	--------------------

Deputy Convener	John Mason MSP, Sarah Boyack MSP, Mark Ruskell MSP
Secretary	Transform Scotland (Colin Howden)
Treasurer	Non-applicable

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

Secretariat support via staff resources at Transform Scotland

Convener Contact Details

Name	Graham Simpson MSP
Parliamentary address	M3:14, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 6983