Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Sustainable Transport

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

25th November 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

24th January 2024

Date Annual Return Submitted

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

25th January 2023

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

10th May 2023

5 MSPs and 39 non-MSP members

Hybrid session. Rail decarbonisation theme. Guest speakers David Clarke from Railway Industry Association & Lee Pounder from SPL Powerlines presented. Followed by a Q&A session.

30th May 2023

2 MSPs and 31 non-MSP members

Online session. Bus decarbonisation theme. Guest speakers Debbie McCreath (Alexander Dennis), Sara Collier (CPT Scotland) and Jude Balfour (First Bus) presented. Followed by a Q&A session.

20th June 2023

2 MSPs and 18 non-MSP members

Hybrid session. Ferry decarbonisation theme. Guest speakers Asbjørn Torvanger (CICERO) and Neil Kermode (EMEC). Followed by a Q&A session.

29th November 2023

5 MSPs and 62 non-MSP members

In person session with drinks reception. Inquiry into the Scottish Government's decarbonisation of public transport - findings from the inquiry that ran over summer 2023. Guest speakers Fiona Hyslop MSP (Transport Minister), Colin Howden, (Transform Scotland). Expert panel with David Clarke (Railway Industry Association), Kevin Hobbs (CMAL) and Jamie Wilson (Alexander Dennis). Followed by a Q&A session.

29th November 2023

"Fossil-Free Future" report published - summarising the work and findings of the CPG 2023 meetings series and inquiry, centred around the Scottish Government's commitment to decarbonisation of public transport.

24th January 2024 – AGM (online)

There were 3 MSPs in attendance and 3 non-MSP members. We discussed the completion of the annual return form, explored CPG sponsorship and 2024 activities going forward and re-elected office bearers.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Graham Simpson (Conservative), John Mason (SNP) Sarah Boyack (Labour), Mark Ruskell (Green), Liam Kerr (Conservative), Brian Whittle (Conservative).

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

| Individuals | Patrick Miner, Aaron McHale |
|---------------|---|
| Organisations | Allan Rail, Alexander Dennis, Age Scotland, CalMac, Capital Rail Action Group, Caledonian Maritime Assets (CMAL), CoMoUK, Community Energy Scotland, Community Transport Association (CTA), Community Rail Network, CPT Scotland, Cycle Law Scotland, Cycling Scotland, Cycling UK in Scotland, Disability Equality Scotland, Edinburgh Bus User's group, Enterprise Holdings, Friends of the Earth Scotland, Friends of the Far North Line, GoBike Strathclyde, Grand Union Trains, Heritage Railway Association, Hitrans, Intelligent Health, Levenmouth Rail Campaign, Light Rail Transit Association, Light Rail UK Group, Living Streets Scotland, Lothian Buses, LNER, Midlothian & Disability Access Panel, Mobility & Access Committee for Scotland (MACS), Network Rail Scotland, Paths For All, Pedal on Parliament, Rail Action Group (East Scotland), Railfuture, Railway Industry Association (RIA), Ramblers Scotland, RNIB Scotland, Siemens Mobility, Scotrail, Scottish Association for Public Transport, Scottish Canals, Scottish Rural & Islands Transport Community (SRITC), Spokes, St Andrew's Rail Campaign, Stagecoach, Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT), Sustrans Scotland, Technology Scotland, Transport Focus, Transport Research Institute (Napier), Transform Scotland, Tweed Valley Rail Campaign, Women's Cycle Forum Scotland. |

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

| Convener | Graham Simpson MSP |
|--------------------|--|
| Deputy Convener | John Mason MSP, Sarah Boyack MSP, Mark Ruskell MSP |
| Secretary | Transform Scotland (Colin Howden) |
| Treasurer | Non-applicable |

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

£4,000 was received from each of Alexander Dennis & the Railway Industry Association to assist Transform Scotland in covering its costs in providing the secretariat role for the CPG between May and November 2023. Additional secretariat support was provided in-kind by Transform Scotland in the form of staff time.

| Convener Contact Details | |
|--------------------------|--|
| Name | Graham Simpson MSP |
| Parliamentary address | M3:14, The Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh EH99 1SP |
| Telephone number | 0131 348 6983 |