Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Stroke

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

27/10/2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

N/A

Date Annual Return Submitted

12/12/2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

n/a

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Meeting 1: October 2021 – Introduction to Scottish Stroke Policy

5MSPs, 4 non-MSPs. Speakers: John Watson, Associate Director, Scotland. Professor Martin Dennis, Chair of the National Advisory Committee on Stroke and Speciality Advisor to the CMO.

Meeting 2: March 2022 – Progressive Stroke Pathway 2MSPs, 28 non-MSP. Speakers: Professor Martin Dennis, Chair of the National Advisory Committee on Stroke and Speciality Advisor to the CMO; Douglas Horn, Co-Chair of the National Stroke Voices.

Meeting 3: June 2022 – Psychological support for stroke survivors. 2 MSPs, 25 non-MSPs. Speakers: Dr Luke Williams, consultant clinical psychologist, Dr Louise Roach, consultant clinical psychologist.

Meeting 4: October 2022 – Psychological support for stroke survivors. 2 MSPs, 26 non-MSPs. Speakers: Professor Maggie Lawrence, Glasgow Caledonian University; Paula McGuire, lived experienced of stroke.

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Gillian MacKay

Paul MacLennan

Roz McCall

Pam Duncan-Glancy

Paul O'Kane

James Dornan

Alexander Stewart

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

In	dı	VIC	lua	IS

Andy Wilson

Douglas Horn

Alan Flynn

Katherine Gillespie

Eric Sinclair

Chris Taylor

Matt Lambert

Tony Byrne

Amy Mulroue

Mary Joan MacLeod

Jacqui Morris

Stephen Makin

Leslie Scoobie

Lisa Kidd

Rustam Al-Shahi Salman

Fergus Doubal

Frederike Van Wyck

Maggie Lawrence

Gillian Mead

Colin MacFarlane

Ian Lee

Catriona Renfrew

Margaret Mitchell MBE

Mark Smith

Christine MacAlpine

Organisations

Scottish Stroke Care Audit

British Heart Foundation

Chest, Heart and Stroke Scotland

BIASP (British and Irish Association of Stroke

Physicians)

Royal College Physicians Edinburgh

Scottish Stroke Psychology Forum

Scottish Stroke Allied Health Professionals Forum
Royal College Physicians and Surgeons Glasgow
Scottish Stroke Nurses Forum
Royal College GP Scotland
Scottish Stroke Research Network
Royal College Speech and Language Therapists
Royal College Occupational Therapists

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Gillian MacKay
Deputy Convener	Paul McLennan and Roz McCall (co-deputy)
Secretary	Stroke Association
Treasurer	n/a

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

-	10
	1
	<i>i</i> u

Convener Contact Details

Name	Gillian MacKay	
Parliamentary address	Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP	
Telephone number	0131 348 6341	