Cross-Party Group on Sport

28th November 2024, 1pm-2pm

Minute

Present

MSPs

Liz Smith MSP Clare Adamson MSP

Non-MSP Group Members

Lucy Preston, Cricket Scotland

Kim Atkinson, Scottish Sports Association Gayle Tuck, Scottish Sports Association Diana Winfield Gary Grieve, Scottish ClubSport

Apologies

Andrew Raitt, Tennis Scotland Brian Whittle MSP Colin Harley, Scottish Futsal Craig Robertson, Paradarts Scotland David Mcgonigle, Councillor, Renfreshire and Inverclyde Fearghas Thomson, Chest, Stroke & Stroke Scotland Fiona Reid, Bayfirth Research CIC Director Forbes Dunlop, sportscotland Fraser Calderwood, Leisure and Culture Dundee Gavin McWhinnie, Office of Liz Smith MSP Gregor Muir, SSA Heidi Vistisen, LEAP Sports Scotland Jane Harvey, Scottish Powerchair Football/Scottish Hockey Jeremy Balfour MSP Joan O'Sullivan, Swimtime UK Ltd & Skilltime Training Academy UK Judith McCleary, Judo Scotland Kash Taank, Cricket Scotland Kim Atkinson, SSA Kirsty Cumming, Community Leisure UK Liz Corbett, parkrun Liz Smith MSP Liza Linton, RYA Scotland Lucy Barclay-Carr, horsescotland

Malcolm Dingwall-Smith, sportscotland
Margarita Sweeney-Baird, Inclusive Skating
Mark Gaffney, Scottish Disability Sport
Megan Richardson, CIMSPA
Michael Leavitt, Edinburgh Napier University
Paddy Sherrard, Scottish ClubSport
Penny Hendrick, DR Inclusive Fitness and Wellbeing
Rick Kenney, Scottish ClubSport
Stew Fowlie, Scottish Student Sport
Stuart Brown, Chest, Heart & Stroke Scotland
Susan Robertson, EHSCP
Trudy Lindblade, Cricket Scotland

Agenda item 1

Matters arising

Approval of minutes of 2nd May 2024 meeting

- Proposer, Liz Smith MSP
- Seconder, Stew Fowlie, Scottish Student Sport

Minutes approved

It was noted that since the last meeting, the King's Birthday UK Honours list was announced, with recipients from Scottish sport including:

- Graeme Souness, awarded a CBE for services to football and to charity
- Sandy Lyle MBE, awarded an OBE for services to Golf
- Ally McCoist MBE, awarded an OBE for services to Association Football and to Broadcasting
- Martin Slumbers, awarded an OBE For services to Golf
- Jasmin Paris, awarded an OBE for services to Fell and Long-Distance Running
- David McMath, awarded an MBE for services to Association Football
- Stephen Gallachar awarded an MBE for services to Golf
- Kenneth MacKenzie, awarded an MBE for services to Mountain Rescue and to the community in Galloway
- Nora Rundell, awarded an MBE for services to Inclusive Skating and Charities in Dunfermline
- Alexander Steele, awarded an MBE for services to Cricket and to People with Interstitial Lung Disease
- Dean Stott, awarded an MBE for services to Sport, and to Humanitarian and Mental Health Awareness
- Christine Bell, awarded a BEM for services to the community in Falkirk and to Older People in Scotland
- Harry Brodie, awarded a BEM for services to Wheelchair Curling
- Bob Easson, awarded a BEM for services to Scottish Rugby
- John Irving, awarded a BEM for services to Outdoor Activities and Health in Scotland
- John Rodgers, awarded a BEM for services to Association Football.

Congratulations were given to all of those individuals who earned recognition and it was noted that attendees should look out for the New Year's Honours list which will be announced in late December.

Agenda item 2

AGM business

Election of Office Bearers

The following are all re-standing for nomination:

Convener: Liz Smith (LS) MSP (Conservative)

Proposed by Kim Atkinson (KA)

Co-Deputy Conveners: Jeremy Balfour MSP (Conservative), Clare Adamson MSP

(SNP)

Proposed by KA

Group Officers: Carol Mochan MSP (Labour), Brian Whittle MSP (Conservative) and

Tess White MSP (Conservative)

Proposed by KA

Secretariat: Scottish Sports Association (SSA)

Proposed by LS

All nominations were passed.

Agenda item 3

It was noted that it is currently Scottish Disability Sport Week 2024, that hopefully people have been engaging with content and messages from SDS and wider partners across the sector, in acknowledgement of the incredible work taking place in the disability sport space.

The next meeting would be held in the New Year with a date to be communicated in due course.

Thanks were given to all attendees.

Meeting closed