Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Scotch Whisky

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

21st September 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

22nd September 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

20 October 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

21st September 2021

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

21st September 2021

Main subjects discussed: Office bearers were elected. Graeme Littlejohn from the Scotch Whisky Association (SWA) provided an overview of H1 Scotch Whisky exports and Fraser Grieve, also from the SWA, provided a presentation on the Scotch Whisky industry's Sustainability Strategy and COP26. The group then considered topics for future meetings.

MSP attendance: Sharon Dowey MSP, Murdo Fraser MSP, Rachael Hamilton MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Jenni Minto MSP, Colin Smyth MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Susy Atkinson (Edrington), Blair Bowman (Whisky Consultant and Author), Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (Scotch Whisky Association - SWA), Karen Freel (Perspectiva Consultants), Fraser Grieve (SWA), Annie Hill (International Centre for Brewing & Distilling), Graeme Littlejohn (SWA), Orchid Liu (UK Chinese Times)

24th February 2022

Main subjects discussed: Minutes of the previous meeting on 21st September were approved. Fraser Grieve, SWA, provided a presentation on 2021 Scotch Whisky Exports and Martin Bell, SWA provided an update on UK-India FTA negotiations.

MSP attendance: Jackie Baillie MSP, Finlay Carson MSP, Murdo Fraser MSP, Rhoda Grant MSP, Rachael Hamilton MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Jenni Minto MSP, Colin Smyth MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Susy Atkinson (Edrington), Martin Bell (Scotch Whisky Association - SWA), Blair Bowman (Whisky Consultant and Author), Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (SWA – Secretariat), Karen Freel (Perspectiva Consultants), Alan Gaskel (Stolt Tank Containers UK), Fraser Grieve (SWA), Annie Hill (International Centre for Brewing and Distilling), Orchid Liu (UK Chinese Times), Joseph Meaden (Portman Group), Ian Smith (Diageo)

18th May 2022 – CPG Scotch Whisky and CPG Tourism joint visit to Johnnie Walker Princess Street Experience

Main subjects discussed: The group took part in the Journey of Flavour Tour, sampled a whisky cocktail at the rooftop bar and then had the opportunity to sample canapes and a further whisky cocktail or a dram in the Explorers' Bothy Bar.

MSP attendance: Rhoda Grant MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Paul McLennan MSP, Stuart McMillan MSP, Jenni Minto MSP,

Non-MSP attendance: Sebastian Bunford-Jones (The Glasgow Distilling Co.), Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (Scotch Whisky CPG Secretariat, SWA), Karen Freel (Perspectiva Consultants), Kyle McIntyre (Charlotte Street Partners), Gavin Mowat (Tourism CPG Secretariat, VisitScotland), Alastair Ross and Hannah Gurga (Association of British Insurers), Ian Smith (Diageo & Host), Douglas Meikle (SWA)

21st June 2022

Main subjects discussed: Minutes of the meeting of 24th February were approved. The group received a presentation from Euan Mitchell, Managing Director, Isle of Arran Distillers regarding the growth of new distilleries where he talked through the development of Isle of Arran Distillers through first Lochranza Distillery and recently opened Lagg Distillery. The group then heard a presentation from Alan Park, Director of Legal, SWA, about Scotch Whisky protection and the specific protections afforded Scotch Whisky, including as a Geographical Indication. Due to both time constraint and not all MSPs being able to participate, the group agreed to exchange suggestions for future topics via email.

MSP attendance: Rhoda Grant MSP, Gordon MacDonald MSP, Colin Smyth MSP

Non-MSP attendance: Euan Mitchell, Isle of Arran Distiller (Speaker), Alan Park, SWA (Speaker), Blair Bowman (Whisky Consultant), Susanne Cameron-Nielsen (Scotch Whisky Association – Secretariat), Annie Hill (International Centre for Brewing and Distilling), Jenni Lang (Glenmorangie), Orchid Liu (UK Chinese Times)

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group. Jackie Baillie (Labour), Murdo Fraser (Conservatives), Rhoda Grant (Labour), Rachael Hamilton (Conservative), Gordon MacDonald (SNP), Liam McArthur (Liberal Democrat), Jenni Minto (SNP), Colin Smyth (Labour).

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Blair Bowman, Whisky Consultant and Author
Organisations	Scotch Whisky Association, Chivas Brothers, Devin Scobie Consulting, Diageo, Edinburgh Distillery Company, Edrington, Gordon MacPhail, Perspectiva Consultants, Glasgow Distillery, GMB, Industrial Biotechnology Innovation Centre, Institute of Brewing and Distilling, Interface, SEPA, Scottish Distillers Association, Forth Ports, Portman Group, Stolt Tank Containers UK, Chinese Times, Unite, William Grant.

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Murdo Fraser MSP	Gordon MacDonald MSP
Deputy Convener	Jenni Minto MSP	Colin Smyth MSP
Secretary	Susanne Cameron-Nielsen, Scotch Whisky Association	

Treasurer	None
i i ododi oi	1 10110

If the Group is not disclosing any financial information please tick the box to confirm that the Group has considered the support received, but concluded it totalled under the threshold for disclosure (£500). Tick

Subscription Charged by the Group

Please provide details of the amount charged and the purpose for which the subscription is intended to be used.

N/A

Convener Contact Details

Name	Murdo Fraser MSP	Gordon MacDonald MSP
Parliamentary address		
Telephone number	0131 348 5293	0131 348 5741