Cross-Party Group Annual Return

Name of Cross-Party Group

Cross-Party Group on Rural Policy

Date Group Established (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

5th October 2021

Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)

16th November 2022

Date Annual Return Submitted

5th December 2022

Date of Preceding AGM [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

5th October 2021: A note explaining the reasons for the delayed return of this Annual Return Form is provided in the cover letter attached.

Group Meetings and Activities

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

Meeting 1: Tuesday 5th October 2021

Attendance: 6 MSPs, 70 Non-MSPs

Topic Discussed: Re-registering the Group, electing office bearers and Scotland's Climate Assembly Report and its implications for Rural Scotland

Guest speakers:

- Susie Townend, Head of Secretariat for Scotland's Climate Assembly: An introduction to Scotland's Climate Assembly
- Artemis Pana, National Coordinator, Scottish Rural Action: 20minute neighbourhoods and other rural issues
- Calum MacLeod, Policy Director, Community Land Scotland: Land ownership reform and community right to buy
- Sam Foster, Project Development Officer, Rural Housing Scotland: Decarbonising the housing stock

Meeting 2: Tuesday 7th December 2021

Attendance: 4 MSPs, 56 Non-MSPs

Topic Discussed: Achieving sustainable rural tourism after the Covid-19 pandemic

Guest Speakers:

- Chris Taylor, Regional Leadership Director Highlands and Islands, VisitScotland: A national perspective on sustainable tourism in rural Scotland
- Rona Gibb, Manager, Paths for All: Paths, Visitors and Covid19 reflections on recent trends
- Kelly Clapperton, Development Officer, Balquhidder, Lochearnhead and Strathyre Community Trust: The Tourism Paradox: Managing Visitors from a Community Perspective
- Esther Tacke, Galloway Cycling Holidays: Trials and Tribulations

 a case study of a small start-up company in an under-marketed region. A 100% increase in tourism means 2 people on the beach
- Janice Chalmers, Alva Development Trust: Perspectives on speakers from the Trust's experience.

Meeting 3: Tuesday 8th March 2022

Attendance: 6 MSPs, 34 Non-MSPs

Topic Discussed: Supporting Scotland's Young Rural Entrepreneurs Guest Speakers:

- Elen Hughes and Jade Owen, Rural Wales, Llwyddo'n Lleol 2050 (Succeeding Locally)
- Rachel Parker, Scottish Borders, The Frangipane Bakery

- Emily Armstrong, Isle of Tiree, Highland Cattle Business Balemartine Fold
- Treasa Cadogan, Cape Clear, Ireland, Local Farmers Market
- Rebecca Dawes, Director of the Rural Youth Project

Meeting 4: Tuesday 7th June 2022

Attendance: 3 MSPs, 41 Non-MSPs Topic discussed: Doing More with Less

Guest Speakers:

- Rhoda Meek, isle20.com, isleholiday.com and isledevelop.com
- Andy Dean, Chief Executive Community Action Northumberland
- Dr Ruth McAreavey, Reader in Sociology, Newcastle University
- Professor Andrew Barnes, Professor of Rural Resource Economics, SRUC
- Alexander Pirie, SAC Consulting, Net Zero Arran
- Professor Davy McCracken, Professor of Agricultural Ecology, SRUC

MSP Members of The Group

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Jenni Minto MSP (Scottish National Party)

Finlay Carson MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Brian Whittle MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Jamie Halcro Johnston MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)

Ariane Burgess MSP (Scottish Green Party)

Mercedes Villalba MSP (Scottish Labour)

Colin Smyth MSP (Scottish Labour)

Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Barbara Kelly, Pat Neeson,
Organisations	A Heart for Duns Development Trust, Aberdeen University, Aberdeen University, Advice Direct Scotland, AIC, Angus Council, Arthouse Galleries, Barnardos, British Association of Landscape Industries (BALI), Buccleuch Estates, Built Environment Forum Scotland, Cairngorms National Park Authority, Centre for Rural Health, UHI, Chair, RSA Fellows Scotland and MCICH Network, Citizens Advice Scotland, CNPA, Crichton Carbon Centre, Dormont Estate, Dot Rural Aberdeen University, Dumfries and Galloway LEADER, Forth Valley & Lomond LEADER, FSB, Group Manager FRBS, SAC Consulting, Head of Economic Development and Strategic Transportation, Argyll and Bute Council, Here We Are Project, Heriot Watt University, HIE, James Hutton Institute, Landmaps Ltd, Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, MAKAR Ltd, RSABI, RSPB, Rural & Islands Housing Associations Forum, Rural Matters, SAC Consulting/SRUC, SAOS (Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society), Scottish Association of Young Farmers, Scottish Churches Rural Group, Scottish Crofting Federation, Scottish Enterprise, Scottish Environment Protection Agency, Scottish Government, Scottish Land and Estates, Scottish Natural Heritage, Scottish Parliament Researcher for Alex Ferguson MSP, Scottish Pilgrim Routes Forum, Scottish Rural Action, Scottish Rural Health Partnership, Scottish Wildlife Trust, SRUC, Stirling University and the Cooperative Group, Change Mental Health, The Horticultural Trades Association (HTA), James Hutton Institute, The Stove Network, Dumfries, The University of Edinburgh, UHI, University of Edinburgh, Urban Animation/Dhu Rural, Whitehill Design Studios, Whitmuir Community Farm Ltd, Whitmuir Organics Limited, Woodland Trust

Group Office Bearers

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Emma Harper MSP (Scottish National Party) Edward Mountain MSP (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)
Deputy Convener	
Secretary	Rural Policy Centre, SRUC (Scotland's Rural College)
Treasurer	

Financial Benefits or Other Benefits

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

SRUC's Rural Policy Centre (RPC) provides the Secretariat for the Group. Funding to enable it to do so (e.g. to cover SRUC staff time at Full Economic Cost, T&S expenses for speakers, etc.) comes from the Scottish Funding Council's Universities Innovation Fund funding allocation to SRUC. The RPC makes an annual application for this funding to undertake a range of knowledge exchange activities of which the CPG Secretariat is one. The cost of running the Group is estimated to be approximately £10,000 per annum.

Convener Contact Details

Name	Edward Mountain MSP
Parliamentary address	The Scottish Parliament Edinburgh EH99 1SP
Telephone number	0131 348 6143