# **Cross-Party Group Annual Return**

# **Name of Cross-Party Group**

# **Cross-Party Group on Music**

**Date Group Established** (the date of establishment is the date in this parliamentary session that the Group held its initial meeting, where the office bearers were elected and not the date that the Group was accorded recognition. All Groups should hold their AGMs on, or before, the anniversary of this date.)

19 June, 2018

# **Date of Most Recent Annual General Meeting (AGM)**

13 December, 2023

### **Date Annual Return Submitted**

21 December, 2023

**Date of Preceding AGM** [this date is required to aid clerks in verifying that the most recent AGM has taken place within 11 to 13 months of the previous AGM]

25 October, 2023

# **Group Meetings and Activities**

Please provide details of each meeting of the Group including the date of the meeting, a brief description of the main subjects discussed and the MSP and non-MSP attendance figures.

Details of any other activities, such as visits undertaken by the Group or papers/report published by the Group should also be provided.

- 6 December, 2022: Music Education, Racism, Own Our Venues
- 3 March, 2023: Alcohol Promotion, Music Education, Music in Community
- 20 June, 2023: Music and Dementia, Music Education, Music Economy
- 26 September, 2023: Culture Funding, Low Emission Zones, Music Education

### **MSP Members of The Group**

Please provide names and party designation of all MSP members of the Group.

Michelle Thomson (SNP), Claire Baker (Labour), Clare Adamson (SNP), Liam Kerr (Conservative), Beatrice Wishart (LD), , Gordon MacDonald (SNP), Pauline McNeill (Labour), Sharon Dowey (Conservative), Audrey Nicoll (SNP)

### Non-MSP Members of The Group

For organisational members please provide only the name of the organisation, it is not necessary to provide the name(s) of individuals who may represent the organisation at meetings of the Group.

Individuals	Aidan O'Rourke, Amy Geddes, Fiona Killen, David Nicholson, Judith Okely, Ralph Riddiough, Iona Fyfe
Organisations	Music Venues Trust, EIS, A Modern Way, Academy of Music and Sound, Active, ABRSM, Assoc of British Orchestras, BBC, BBC Scottish Symphony, Beatroute, Born to be Wide, Burness Paull, Chief Radio, Craft Management, Creative Scotland, Culture Counts, Drake Music Scotland, Dunedin Consort, East Lothian Council, Edinburgh Int. Festival, Emu Bands, Falkirk Council, Forget-Me-Notes, Glasgow University, HITS, HebCelt Festival, Hold Fast, Inter-cultural Youth Scotland, Live Music Now, Lost Art Agency, MEPG, Musicians Union, Music Broth, New Music Scotland, News Direct, Nordoff Robins, NYCOS, Perth College, PRS, RCS,

Red Note Ensemble, Rightsbridge, RSNO, Scottish
Alternative Music Awards, Scottish Music Industry
Association, SCO, Scottish Music Centre, Scottish
Opera, Sneaky Pete's, Sound Sense, Soundhouse,
St Andrews Voices, St Mary's Music School,
Glasgow Barons, The Night With, Traditional Music
Forum, Univ of West of Scotland

# **Group Office Bearers**

Please provide names for all office bearers. The minimum requirement is that two of the office bearers are MSPs and one of these is Convener – beyond this it is a matter for the Group to decide upon the office bearers it wishes to have. It is permissible to have more than one individual elected to each office, for example, co-conveners or multiple deputy conveners.

Convener	Michelle Thomson MSP
Deputy Conveners	Claire Baker MSP, Liam Kerr MSP
Secretary	David Francis
Treasurer	NA

### **Financial Benefits or Other Benefits**

Please provide details of any financial or material benefit(s) the Group anticipates receiving from a single source in a calendar year which has a value, either singly or cumulatively, of more than £500. This includes donations, gifts, hospitality or visits and material assistance such as secretariat support.

ı	V	0	n	Δ
ı	N	v		C

### **Convener Contact Details**

Name	Michelle Thomson
Parliamentary address	Michelle.Thomson.MSP@parliament.scot
Telephone number	07768 464763